Be Fit & Pain Free in 2011

On Saturday, I was Amanda’s guest at a blogger & workout event called “Be Fit & Pain Free in 2011,” which was hosted by celebrity trainer Kathy Kaehler and sponsored by Salonpas Pain Relief Patches.

Disclosure: Though the event and swag were provided by Salonpas, my recap and thoughts are entirely my own!

Oh, and by celebrity trainer, I mean that Kathy is Julia Roberts’ trainer (and has been for something like 14 years!) and has also trained Kim Kardashian, Jennifer Aniston, and Cindy Crawford, among others.

As in, these superfit ladies.

You know, NBD.

Anyway, having learned my lesson from the last time I worked out with another blogger, I fueled with this guy on the way over…

Thank goodness I did. I was starving by the time the class was over.

At the beginning, while we waited for everyone to show up, there was a lot of mingling and picture-taking. We are bloggers, after all.

(Amanda, Sarah and Maryann)

(Lea, Amanda and me)

(Sarah and Lea)

(Maryann, me and Amanda… photo also courtesy of Amanda)

The event was to begin with the workout session, led by Kathy.

The workout was comprised of a circuit of nine stations, each of which lasted for exactly one minute. We did the entire circuit three times, which totaled in an almost 30-minute workout.

First, we stretched.

And then Kathy demonstrated each of the stations for us.

And then… we got to working!

The stations:

  • Urban Rebounders (aka trampolines… I loved that I was already used to this one!)
  • Tricep Dips
  • Steps
  • Planks
  • Chair Squats
  • Bicep Curls (using resistance bands)
  • Steps with high knees
  • Squats, picking up playing cards
  • Lateral Raises with dumbbells

We split into groups of three.

Lea and Amanda were my lovely teammates.

I loved doing this event with other bloggers. We were all taking pictures and having a good time!

Here’s one of my favorite action photos, from Lea:

After the workout ended, we all pulled chairs up in a circle to get to know each other and each others’ blogs a little bit better.

(Picture from Amanda)

Bloggers in attendance:

  • Kelley of Kelocity
  • Monica from Run, Eat, Repeat
  • Rose from Eat, Drink and Be Meiri
  • Sarah from Skinny Runner
  • Caryn from Rockin’ Mama
  • Alyssa from Mommy Warriors
  • Lea from Healthy Coconut
  • Maryann from The Balanced Bean
  • and, of course, Amanda from Two Boos Who Eat

The event was a lot of fun! And, to top things off, we were each given fun goodie bags. 🙂

(Photo, again, from Amanda)

By the time that was over, my stomach was growling! So, thank goodness, a bunch of us followed the event by going out for brunch at Sagebrush Cantina.

Please believe me when I say that I made a significant dent in these chips.

Significant.

One of the other bloggers (I can’t remember who) said that the Cancun Wrap with shrimp came highly recommended.

I decided to go out on a limb and order it, except with mahi mahi instead.

It was totally not something I would usually order, but I really enjoyed it. I polished off half of the wrap and most of the salad and packaged up the other half of the sandwich to enjoy later.

It was so much fun to hang out with old blogger friends and to meet new ones as well!

I somehow managed to cut off Andy (the other Boo Who Eats, aka Amanda’s husband and co-blogger), but he joined us as well.

All in all, a very fun blogger day. Thank you to Amanda for bringing me and thank you to Kathy Kaehler and Salonpas for the event!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Be Fit & Pain Free in 2011

  1. I don’t even like tortilla chips THAT much, but somehow I end up eating a basket or two if they’re in front of me…

  2. That looks like so much fun! And the cancun wrap sounds interesting.

  3. I’m so glad we got to finally work out together!

  4. Yay, glad you liked the picture of us holding our planks. We almost look like we like doing planks huh?

    Hopefully more workouts in the future with you guys 🙂 Lets do our hike and then do cookie exchange after, lol!

    It was great seeing you again Kaitlin.

  5. Raya

    Sounds like a lot of fun!! That plank pic is supercute too!

  6. that is so freaking awesome! im so jealous i wish i couldv;e come!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Be Fit & Pain Free in 2011 | Kaitlin With Honey -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

