Rosemary Potatoes & Green Beans

On Monday night, I had dinner with the lovely and talented Lynn!

We went to Panera, which is an old favorite of mine but was new to Lynn! I couldn’t believe it.

I had such a good time catching up with Lynn… and just in case any of you are wondering, she is one of the coolest, most together people I have ever met. If you don’t read her blog yet, you should.

I got the French Onion soup, which I had been super excited about. I’d just had it the day before (don’t judge), so it was kind of all I was craving. I just wanted to repeat the wonderful experience.

However, let’s do a little comparison here, because the soup I got on Monday was far inferior to the soup I got on Sunday.

Sunday:

Looks good, right?

Monday:

Weak.  Everyone knows the cheese and croutons are the best part. Duh.

Another dish that totally proves how a meal can be either weak or great with just a few little changes is the Rosemary Potatoes & Green Beans dish I whipped up the other night.

You see, my lunches on Monday and Tuesday were exactly the same and were revivals of a kind of failed dinner late last week. I had big plans to make these super-exciting salmon burgers with a side of potatoes and green beans. These plans were exciting because I like to tell myself that things I make sound gourmet and also because I was oh-so-sure the meal was going to kick butt.

Wroooong!

The salmon burgers? Hear me when I say this:  I am never making them again. They tasted good in the end, but seeing so much bone in a can = a good way to lose your appetite. At least, it is for me. So, you know, I’m not going to subject you to it.

Anyway, this is what that dinner looked like:

You’d think the salmon burgers would steal the show, but the part I was really interested in was that colorful side of the plate.

The good news was that I had at least two servings of the veggies left, so I knew I’d have the chance to re-work them into better meals.

Rosemary Potatoes & Green Beans

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag green & yellow beans (TJ’s)
  • ~ 10 baby potatoes (Hanna gave these, which came from her CSA, to me… thanks, Hanna!)
  • 3/4 tbs EVOO
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • pinch rosemary

Directions

Place green & yellow beans and potatoes in a pot of water and bring to boil. Cook the beans and potatoes in the water for about five more minutes in the boiling water.

Drain potatoes and beans from the pot.

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium-high heat. Add beans and potatoes. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder and rosemary. Cook for about 7-10 minutes, or until they’ve browned slightly, stirring often.

That’s it! Easy, right?

Anyway, the re-purposing of this side dish was a lot better. As I said, I used it for both my Monday and Tuesday lunches.

All I did was add pinto beans (one serving per day) and a generous amount of parmesan & romano.

This lunch actually kind of rocked. I miss it already.

Especially because lunch today should be…. interesting. More on that later.

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Rosemary Potatoes & Green Beans

  1. I loooove Panera. I’ve never tried the French onion soup (not vegetarian 😦 ) but I love the black bean! I would have been so sad if my soup was lacking cheese… that’s the best part! You should show them this photo, haha!

  2. actorsdiet

    aw, you’re so sweet. that soup does look far inferior!

    as for the bones in the fish – i think it’s supposed to give you calcium?!? i may totally be making that up…

  3. Love your food and photography! Looks awesome! 🙂

  4. Lynn is definitely lovely!! I can imagine that she’d be a really “together” person and she comes off as such a warm and genuine person on her blog too. 🙂 How rare for an actress!

    I’m definiately a Panera fan, but there aren’t that many of ’em here in Boston! And what a fabulous plate of veggies!!

  5. I need to go to Panera more often! Sad to hear your salmon burgers didnt come out well…I love them but have never tried to make my own! I would be weirded out by the bones too.

Leave a Reply

