Cake Batter Smoothie

This smoothie sort of changed my life.

I got the idea, a long time ago, from reading Kath’s blog and finding it intriguing that she often uses oats in her smoothie. Usually, I want my smoothies full of fruit, not grain-based carbs, but Saturday’s intense spin class brought up something of a conundrum. I was hot and sweaty, which made me crave something cold, but I felt like I also needed a carb-heavy breakfast. Oatmeal would have been great if I felt I could stomach a hot, heavy breakfast.

And thus, my version of the cake batter smoothie was born.

Oh, and I also got to break in my new blender, which was an incredibly generous and thoughtful gift from my best friend, Will! You may remember him from my NYC visit and my New Year’s Eve celebrations. 🙂

I’m in love. It’s amazing. In case you’re wondering, it’s an Oster 6812-001 Core 16-Speed Blender with Glass Jar. If you want one too, here’s the link.

And thank goodness, too, because the old blender was not only incredibly annoying, but it was also definitely about to kick the bucket.

Now, onto the recipe…

Cake Batter Smoothie

for one

Into the mix went:

  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1/4 cup uncooked oats
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Chocolate Whey protein powder (or any chocolate or vanilla protein powder, but this really is my favorite)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • dash cinnamon

On top:

  • Cacao Bliss Coconut Butter drizzle (amazing)
  • Vanilla Almond Granola

This was so sweet and creamy and I kind of felt like I was having dessert for breakfast, which I was totally okay with.

I love how you can see the oats in that picture!

You should probably make this. And then you should tell me how much you loved it!

20 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

20 responses to “Cake Batter Smoothie

  1. Mmmm… looking at all those photos is making me hungry— and I just ate!

  2. I think I definitely will make this, and I will let you know how it is 🙂

  3. omg i needed a new smoothie idea…must try raw oats in my smoothie!

  4. Very yum! I miss my old oats and smoothie combos, perhaps I should revisit one this weekend.

  5. Pingback: Takes the Cake | What Kate is Cooking

  6. Whoa – this sounds (and looks!) amazing! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Help a Sister Out! | What Kate is Cooking

  8. i made this cake batter smoothie today but used yogurt instead of milk! it was delicious

  9. Pingback: HOW ?! « Banksyface

  10. Pingback: Giveaway Time (And a Tribute to Oats) | Kaitlin With Honey

  11. Pingback: 10 Weeks | What Kate is Cooking

  12. Pingback: Let the Taper Begin! | What Kate is Cooking

  13. Pingback: Love Grown Foods and Swanson Reviews | What Kate is Cooking

  14. Pingback: “Budget” Healthy Lunches From My Fridge | Kaitlin With Honey

  15. Pingback: My Seven Links | Kaitlin With Honey

  16. Pingback: The moral of this smoothie is: « Scrumptious Gruel

  17. LOVE the raw oats in this!

  18. Pingback: Oats & Yogurt, Yogurt & Oats | Kaitlin With Honey

  19. Pingback: Back to School Breakfasts | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

