Mexican Casserole

Well, it will be a Mexican Casserole when you make it.

When I made it, it was a Mexican Souperole.

I set out to make a casserole the other day, but mine wasn’t quite a casserole. It was too soupy. I am, however, happy with the result as, essentially, a baked soup.

I know, weird.

But, really, I think the answer to this Souperole becoming a legitimate casserole would simply be to add about a cup and a half of cooked brown rice. So I’m going to add that in the recipe below, and you can just pretend that I added it myself.

Mexican Casserole

makes about 5 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 8 mini potatoes (I used white, red and purple)
  • 1 1/2 cups green beans
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 can corn, drained & rinsed
  • 3 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 1 container (1 pint) black bean soup (I used Trader Joe’s Latin Style Black Bean Soup)
  • 1/2 cup shredded light cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook brown rice in a pot of water on the stove until it is al dente.

Spread the cooked rice along the bottom of your casserole dish.

Chop and prepare your vegetables, spreading them evenly across the rice in your casserole dish.

Pour the black bean soup over the rice and vegetables. Stir the contents of the casserole dish to evenly distribute the soup and vegetables.

Bake the casserole for 40 minutes, then take out and sprinkle the cheese on top. Bake for 20 more minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbling.

Voila! You’re done.

This is what it looked like when I had it for lunch the next day (and after transport in tupperware to work):

Yum! I definitely do think the brown rice would take it to the next level, but this was certainly filling, hearty and healthy all on its own.

Oh, and when I had it next, I added avocado on top. Totally made the dish.

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “Mexican Casserole

  1. Claire

    I bet that would be delicious with some enchilada sauce too.. I may have to try that

  2. The souperole (LOVE the name) looks delish!

  3. don’t you LOVE how awesome food looks after transporting it to work? At least it keeps the delicious smell and taste! All that matters, right?

  4. mmmm avocado always makes the meal for me. Love.

  5. Very yummy looking dish, but then again – you can never go wrong with melted cheese and Mexican flavors!

Leave a Reply

