You Are What You Eat

As I was enjoying my new addiction favorite thing this afternoon, I noticed a quote that really spoke to me.

“You only get out of your body what you put into it.”

Have you ever really thought about that?

I remember reading somewhere (it might have been a blog… I honestly don’t remember) that a new mom’s philosophy on food was, “Would I want to feed this to my baby?” I liked that, too.

Basically, I like the idea of fueling with whole foods. I don’t think our bodies are really meant to have processed foods and, for the most part, I really do try to avoid them.

I try to avoid them for other reasons, too, but that’s for another (big) post.

Anyway, I have avoided processed foods entirely so far today, which I normally do anyway… but today, I really focused on cutting out my “handful” habit (it’s really a problem).  It feels good to only have whole foods! I started my day with an oatmeal pancake, which I’ve made before.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 egg
  • splash unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • handful blueberries
  • 2 dashes cinnamon

On top:

  • 1 tbs nonfat plain TJ’s Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs strawberry rhubarb jam
  • handful blueberries
  • sprinkle walnut pieces
  • 1/2 tbs shredded unsweetened coconut

It was good, but somehow not as good as I’d remembered it to be. I think I’m more into plain ol’ oatmeal these days.

Lunch was leftover Mexican Casserole. I didn’t take a picture today, but it looked like a previous day’s lunch of the exact same meal:

No tortilla, though. I didn’t even eat the tortilla the day I did have it on my plate, actually.

Dessert was an apple. A little later, I had a tiny clementine.

And, you know, there was that Kombucha.

Don’t judge! I have a problem.

Snack was a banana with a spoonful of TJ’s Flaxseed Almond Butter (solid ingredient list).

Oh, I lied. I did have one processed thing today!

Trust me, though, one of these guys was necessary. Maybe two. If you follow me on twitter, you know I was considering a second one. I didn’t, though. I was too nervous that it would be too much.

I think I do a lot better, in so many ways, when I focus on eating whole, unprocessed foods. I feel lighter, I have more energy, I avoid stomachaches, and I feel good about how I’m fueling my body.

I like to view the food I put into my body as fuel for what I will be doing. As in, would I rather be fueled at bootcamp with 100 calories of a 100-calorie pack of chocolate-covered pretzels with little-to-no nutritional value, or fruit/ vegetables/ nuts/ etc., which actually give me energy and strength?

I think you probably get my point.

What’s your view on whole vs. processed foods? What are your food philosophies?

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

13 responses to “You Are What You Eat

  1. I wholeheartedly agree about whole foods being the way to go. Some days I’m better about it than others, but it’s definitely high on my list of eating goals. I totally feel better when I’m being good about it, and usually end up making more interesting meals too. I had blueberries for breakfast today too! Must have been something in the water…

  2. I try to eat unprocessed foods as much as possible. I don’t do it 100% but I would say I probably eat about 85% unprocessed. It depends on the day and what I’m doing. And I agree, the more unprocessed I eat the better I feel!

    BTW- when I read the title the only thing I could think about was “I ordered the jerk/ she said ‘you are what you eat'”. Yep, I have a Kanye problem.

    • Lord knows I don’t eat unprocessed 100% of the time. Take my fascination with Chobani, for instance! Life isn’t any fun with hard and fast rules, anyway.

      And P.S., I don’t even know that Kanye song! Or, at least, I can’t place it.

  3. ya know, going vegan this week has really made me realize how much processed crap I eat and how much it weighs me down. i haven’t felt this light in a long time and it’s definitely showing in my workouts!

  4. Totally agree–Whole foods just make me feel better! But sometimes I have a strong craving for sugary, processed foods that are just too hard to say no too 🙂 Definitely whole foods are a staple in my diet though! Love the oatmeal pancake idea!

  5. My philosophy – processed food is like sugar in the gas tank, it shuts your engine down and can be a costly thing to repair if you try to drive too many miles with that circulating in your tank.

  6. Claire

    Ohh, just tried those pancakes. So good. I don’t know what you’re talking about. Next time I might make it worse for me by adding a little brown sugar.

    Whole foods are the bomb. I heard a fantastic piece of advice about food. Think about how you are going to feel AFTER you eat it. Duh. Whole foods make you feel full and energized and great. So many processed foods make you feel bloated and slow and yucky. It’s a good choice. Switching over is going to be a process. One day at a time.

    • Oooh I’m so excited that you tried the pancakes! I’m glad you liked them. And I am totally in support of your brown sugar idea! Mark suggested, too, that honey could be drizzled over one. I think that sounds great too.

      Also, your advice is a big part of my whole eating philosophy. That’s why I stopped getting food from food trucks at work. I never felt good after eating from any of them.

      Well, you know, except for Coolhaus. 🙂

  7. I definitely try to eat whole foods as much as possible, but I’ve been getting really lazy about it! I just bought some ice cream… but I also bought broccoli, so I’d like to think it evens out 🙂

    By the way, I made your cake batter smoothie this morning! It was AMAZING.

  8. My food philosophy – eating a balanced diet of whole foods! Once in awhile I cave and have a processed snack, but I’m not really that strict on myself, knowing that what I do end up eating provides the energy and nutrition that I need to carry on my day-to-day.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

