That Is The Question

To skip a workout or not to skip a workout? That is the question.

Even though my usual rest days are on Sundays, I have a workout planned for this coming Sunday. In order to compensate, I planned to not go to the gym yesterday. When that failed, I planned not to go today. I’ll spoil the ending for you: I went both days.

I think it’s funny that a lot of people put off workout days because I definitely am the opposite. I always put off rest days. Not only is my workout my favorite part of my day, but it is also, to me, the only saving grace to the fact that I sit at a desk for about nine hours every day.

On the other hand, I haven’t gotten a full night’s sleep in over a week. And, per both my common sense and my New Year’s Resolutions, I’m supposed to be paying attention to that.

I really was going to take this morning off, especially since I went to bed fairly late last night, but the truth is that I “taste-tested” just a liiiittle bit too much of the dough for the cookies I was making to feel okay about not working out today.

That’s not to say that I necessarily would have felt guilty (although, if I’m being honest, there is a little of that too), but more that I prefer the feeling of endorphins to that of a sugar hangover and working out, for me, tends to curb sugar hangovers.

Anyway, I definitely have workouts scheduled for both tomorrow and Sunday and I’m kind of unwilling to budge on either of them (one is my favorite workout of the week and the other is a social engagement). This means I will have worked out for seven days in a row. Is that okay? Especially if I promise to take a day off next week? It will probably be on Tuesday, though, bringing us to a solid 8 days of working out in a row.

(Oh, and yes, I’ll be sharing that cookie recipe with you soon. 🙂 )

Anyway, I did manage to squeeze in a healthy dinner last night while I was “sampling” the cookie dough. It was something I’ve made it before, albeit slightly differently – my Portobello Pizza.

Though I do have the original recipe on the previous post, I’ll just write what I did this time around here.

I scooped out the mushrooms (didn’t do that last time), then topped them with marinara, spoonfuls of ricotta, and lowfat mozzarella cheese, then cooked them for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

I’m actually really glad I made two, which I almost didn’t since I wasn’t sure when I’d have a chance to eat the leftovers before they went bad. Happily, Mark came home starving last night and I got to repay him the favor of having a hot meal ready for him. 🙂

The best part, hands down, was the ricotta. Yum.

Anyway, as you might have assumed, this morning’s workout involved my Friday routine of boot camp and the elliptical. Afterward, I again came home craving one breakfast and then running out of time and having to make something else.

Second time this week!

And, once again, Chobani and VitaTop saved the day.

Into the mix went:

  • Raspberry 0% Chobani
  • CranBran VitaTop
  • tsp Bees Knees peanut butter
  • blueberries
  • blackberries
  • 1/3 banana, sliced
  • sprinkle granola

I really don’t know when I’ll ever get sick of yogurt bowls, as long as they have some kind of bread or cereal in them (or, in today’s case, both).

Then again, I thought I’d never get sick of overnight oats, either, and I’ve been kind of sick of those lately.

As for lunch, well… I really liked that Mexican Casserole that I made the other day, but I am really glad I finished it off at lunch today. I’ve had it for lunch nearly every day this week.

It’s been a little much.

I just really hate to waste food, you know what I mean?

How quickly do you get sick of leftovers? And, back to the original topic of this post, how many rest days do you take per week?

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “That Is The Question

  1. My lunches are 90% of the time leftovers from the previous night’s dinner. I intentionally cook extra servings to have for lunch the next day.

    I could pretty much eat the same thing six meals in a row before I’d need to mix it up.

  2. I get sick of leftovers by the third day or so, but leftovers don’t usually last that long for me, because when I make something, I try not to make too much of it!

  3. ooo that portobello pizza looks fantastic!!!!

    I wouldn’t worry about working out too many days in a row. As long as you listen to your body, you’ll probably be fine. If, however, on day 6 you have twinges and pains in certain areas, you should probably stop. But, knowing you’re working out 8 days in a row, why not just plan to take it extra easy on one of those days? Should be a good compromise, right?

  4. Normally, I take one rest day a week (sometimes two, like this week depending on how much work I have to do). I wouldn’t worry about working out 8 days in a row. If your body feels OK I say go for it. I’m actually working out twice on Sunday because I just can’t stay away from my favorite yoga class.

  5. Jennifer

    When I make extra of something (usually soups), I usually freeze it so that on a day when I don’t feel like cooking but still want to have a healthy meal all I have to do is pull something out of the freezer.

  6. We are in the same position right now! Seriously- I ate more than normal today, which is making me feel a little guilty (I know it shouldn’t- but it does!) I was planning on taking a rest day tomorrow, but I figure since it’s a weekend, I should just work out because I’ll have more time. And then next week, I already have my workouts planned, so I don’t want to take a rest day until I feel like I need it, you know? I think as long as you feel up to it, it’s fine to work out 🙂

  7. We must be twins! I generally only take one rest day a week and even that is questionable! Like you, I loooove that endorphin rush. Additionally, it allows me a break from my studies. To compensate though, on my supposed day off, I do a light workout. It’s an addition! LOL
    Amazing looking food!!
    Leftovers get boring after about the 3rd day!

  8. i actually hate leftovers…something about eating the same things for so many days just makes eating blah for me.

    and i don’t think 7 days is too much, just make sure to stay in tune with how you feel. if you’re tired, especially since you haven’t been sleeping, take a rest day and see how you feel for the next. i usually take one day of rest, but have been taking two lately. i’ve just been too exhausted.

  9. I typically get sick of leftovers after 4 or 5 repeat meals.

    And for off-days, I just go off of how my body is feeling, but focus on getting movement daily no matter what. Some days this means an aggressive workout, other days it means more mild physical activities. I listen a lot to how my muscles are feeling overall though.

  10. That pizza looks delicious!! And those cookies sound wonderful, peanut butter and peanut butter cups? My favorites in one cookie! Thanks for the recipe 🙂 I think you’re fine with working out 7 days in a row as long as you’re listening to your body and not pushing too hard!!

Leave a Reply

