Monster Cookies

Recently, on Lynn’s blog, I read about cookies that piqued my interest like nobody’s business. Though they were made by somebody else, Lynn was awesome, as ever, and tracked down the recipe for me.

I was totally excited, but I also wasn’t the biggest fan of the ingredients (or proportions thereof) that the recipe called for. I mean, there was a lot of potential, but I felt there were ways they could be healthier.

And, well, you know how I like to put my own spin on things.

Anyway, I have a feeling the original cookies are amazing, but I’m glad I made my (slightly) healthier version. They still packed a lot of punch and were a huge hit at the office!

Oh, and they also worked pretty well as a tie-in with the upcoming Valentine’s Day, too. πŸ™‚

(See? It’s a heart! It’s also Mickey Mouse… but it’s a heart!)

Oh, and a quick warning (so you know before you get started): this dough needs to be refrigerated for a minimum of 5 hours!

Monster Cookies

adapted from the recipe at Can Do Kitchen, which was based on one from Baked


makes about 30 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat (all-purpose would work too)
  • 2/3 tbs baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 stick cold, unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter (I used creamy, but I bet chunky works well too)
  • 3/4 cup M&Ms (I used Valentine’s Day colors to be festive)
  • 1/2 cup mini TJ’s peanut butter cups

You could add pretty much any candy you wanted (I bet toffee bits would be divine). You could also add chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and/ or nuts. Go crazy! I just used what I had on hand and what I felt would be good choices.

Directions:

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt and oats. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to cream the butter until smooth. Add brown sugar, white sugar and honey and mix on low until the ingredients are just combined. Add the vanilla and peanut butter and mix to combine again.

Fold in M&Ms and mini peanut butter cups.

Refrigerate the dough for at least five hours (I refrigerated mine for 24 hours, actually!) in a tightly lidded (or sealed with plastic wrap) container.

Once your dough has been refrigerated and is ready to go, preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Scoop out spoonfuls of the dough onto the prepared baking sheets. Give them some room – the cookies will spread!

Bake for 11-13 minutes, switching and rotating the pans halfway through. Make sure to watch the cookies, as the honey makes them brown quickly.

Let cool on wire racks.

Enjoy!

Oh, and don’t forget to celebrate Valentine’s Day!

Now… go bake some cookies and share them with whomever you count among your loved ones. πŸ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “Monster Cookies

  1. actorsdiet

    mmmm they still look amazing and i’m sure they tasted good as well…

  2. Yum, you make me look forward to the cookie that is in my future tonight! πŸ˜‰

  3. anddddd now I want to make cookies!

  4. YUM! I’m such a sucker for colored M&Ms! I think that’s my favorite part of any holiday πŸ™‚

  5. Those cookies sound fantastic. Love your “heart” photo of them. I hope you’ll come by and link these up to Sweets for a Saturday #4. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-4.html

  6. Those cookies sounds awesome!! Love M&M’s!

  7. Yum! Those cookies look delicious! πŸ™‚

  8. Jen

    Peanut buttery deliciousness! They look awesome!

  9. Pingback: Giveaway Time (And a Tribute to Oats) | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

