Another Full Weekend

I’ve been doing a pretty solid job of filling my weekends lately. This is mostly a good thing – I much prefer ending a weekend knowing I did as many things with the little free time I have as possible. However, I also find that by the time most weekends end, I look back and think, “Where did the time go?!”

As you know, I spent Friday night cooking, eating and drinking with Lauren. Obviously, this is one of my favorite things to do.

Despite the glass(es) of wine I consumed on Friday night, I still woke up pretty early on Saturday and was determined to go to my favorite spin class.

I don’t usually eat before working out, but I needed a little something since I woke up a few hours before class. I tided myself over with a piece of Great Harvest Raisin Cinnamon Chip bread with a little Smart Balance on top.

Spin was especially tough on Saturday morning, but I was really glad I went. It makes me feel so alive!

I left class starving and went home to make the breakfast I’d been thinking about for at least half the class: a bowl of Meghann-inspired cannoli cereal.

Into the mix went:

  • 3/4 cup part skim ricotta cheese
  • handful probiotic cereal
  • sprinkle vanilla almond granola
  • blackberries
  • blueberries
  • 1/3 banana, sliced
  • sprinkle shredded coconut
  • Cacao Bliss crumbles

Totally hit the spot.

And all mixed up so you can see what it really looked like (aka so I can prove there was ricotta in it):

So much of the rest of the day was filled with errands and random things I had to do. At some point, I managed to stop and grab a favorite sandwich from Trader Joe’s.

This is definitely my go-to on-the-go meal, if there’s a Trader Joe’s around.

I love pretzel bread. I never use the sauce, by the way. It’s definitely flavorful enough without the added calories.

That afternoon, I went and saw The Green Hornet in 3D.

It was totally stupid. I was really disappointed because I’m a big fan of Seth Rogen’s. I was especially disappointed because I missed a couple of hours of glorious sunshine to see it.

Anyway, afterward, I went out to dinner with Mark at a brewery/ restaurant called Gordon Biersch’s. I think I’ve probably written about being there before. I didn’t take any pictures, but I can tell you I got a burger. I’ve been craving red meat for weeks and finally caved this weekend. It was good, but, sadly, it was nothing special.

The garlic fries it came with, however, were intense.

Sunday brought both highlights of the weekend!

In the morning, I went hiking with fellow bloggers Katherine, Monica and a new friend, Kate!

I was, once again, up hours before my morning workout. So, I made myself my favorite Sunday morning breakfast…

… read about half of my book, and managed to even make a Valentines Day treat for a party I’d be attending later in the day.

All before 9:00 AM.

The hike was a lot of fun. We went to Runyon Canyon and chose the moderate path. We actually were going to do the most difficult one until I had to veto it upon seeing how rocky and steep it was. As much as I like a challenge, I need to be smart about my knee right now.

This was more like it!

It also allowed for easy, not-breathless conversation, which I think ended up being preferable anyway.

We saw so many gorgeous views along the way. I love how you can see the little dots of people in this picture:

One cool thing about Runyon Canyon is how many dogs there were! We must have seen around 30 on the hike.

It’s a cool place to people-watch and celebrity-watch, too.

But really, it’s all about the views.

We’d just walked that!

I loved this, which I didn’t even notice until Katherine pointed it out:

So appropriate for Valentine’s Day!

And look, it’s the Hollywood sign (again):

This is downtown LA in the distance. Funny how small it looks from up high.

Before we knew it, we’d made it to the top…

I love this picture of Monica, surveying the views:

At the bottom, we took a few more pictures and then we all had to head off on our merry ways.

Monica and Katherine:

Me and Kate:

It was so fun to see those girls!

Anyway, I then rushed home, showered, grabbed a quick turkey sandwich, and headed off to my friend Claire‘s Valentine’s Day Board Game party.

There were lots of treats (AKA temptations) to be had!

That’s my chocolate bark up there. Recipe to come…

The first game we played was my all-time favorite, Taboo.

I get a little competitive. I may have scared my friends a little bit.

It was enough that they refused to play spoons with me. Ridiculous. They just can’t handle a winner. πŸ˜‰ (And yes, naturally, my team – the girls – won).

After the girls dominated, we took a little break to explore Claire’s garden and enjoy the sunshine.

The gals:

(Amy, me, Claire)

The guys:

(Chris, James & Mike)

Mike, Claire’s boyfriend and an extremely talented photographer, also taught me a little bit about my camera and then showed off his own camera.

How cool is that?

Next up: Cranium!

This used to be my favorite game (before I discovered the wonder that is Taboo), so I was pretty psyched to play this as well.

Chris and I did not win. I was okay with that, though. I’d already kicked butt at Taboo.

All in all, the party was awesome. Intimate parties with close friends, especially involving games of any sort, tend to be my favorite kind.

I didn’t really end up watching the Grammys. Did you? I just kind of got random tasks done last night while munching on random leftovers.

How were your weekends?

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “Another Full Weekend

  1. Cannoli, hiking and game nights? I LOVE YOU. I really love Cranium but have never played Taboo. I bet I’d love it. I love games.

    Sad I missed hiking and seeing you! NEXT TIME!

  2. What a fun weekend!! I hope to be able to join you all next time you meet up for a hike or whatever πŸ™‚ Can I just say your breakfast ricotta bowl looks simply amazing. I am hungry just looking at it. Hope you had a great Valentine’s day! xoxo!

  3. Ah! Awesome pics from the hike. Had such a blast on the hike, we’ll have to do it again soon! You’re board game party also looks so awesome. I think there should be a blogger board game night in the future πŸ™‚

  4. actorsdiet

    ah,runyon. the smell of dog poo! i haven’t been in forever; i’ve a feeling i’m way too outa shape now!

  5. I feel so honored to be on here πŸ™‚ The hike was so much fun! Can I use some of these pictures? I can’t believe I forgot my camera 😦

    I get so competitive when I play Cranium it’s ridiculous. None of my friends will let me be on a team with my sister because they think we have twin telepathy… which we kind of do πŸ™‚

  6. Amy

    I cannot believe you posted that picture of me. You’re fired. fired.

  7. That is a busy weekend, but at least all filled with fun stuff! πŸ™‚

    I love the pictures from the hike – it was such a fun way to start my Sunday!

    Hope your week is off to a great start! I have a fun update. πŸ˜‰

  8. I love game night! Your v-day was so much better than mine! That hike looks amazing, too! Alas, we have no fun hiking places in Kansas! I’m so jealous!

  9. Pingback: Caprese Stew (and a Dinner Party) | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

