Back on Track

So, I’m not going to lie. My Valentine’s Day was not the best. In fact, it was kind of one of the worst days (Valentine’s or not) that I can remember having in a very long time.

Unfortunately, the hits kept on coming and they resulted in me eating (far) more than one piece of my Valentine’s Day chocolate bark. No bueno. I mean, the bark was bueno, but the tummyache I got as a result was not.  I felt icky all day and even woke up feeling icky this morning. That’s a sign you’ve gone overboard, for sure!

So let’s just go ahead and skip Valentine’s Day, mmmkay?

(But we’re not totally done with Valentine’s Day yet because I have something fun at the bottom of this post…)

Thankfully, bad days end when you go to bed, so all I had to do was wake up this morning and start fresh. And this morning started early! I was up and at ’em at 5:40 am, heading to the gym for a majorly butt-kicking spin class.

I’ve noticed that spin classes make me as hungry as running does. It’s funny because spinning and running are the two exercises that I do for the least amount of time, so they must really do a number on me because I always eat more afterward.

Because it’s a Tuesday, I had PT this morning. It was, as usual, fantastic, and made even better because my PT and I totally became friends this morning as we lamented how much (most) men suck. It was therapeutic in more ways than one. 😉

Anyway, a morning full of activity resulted in, of course, a late breakfast at my desk. I’m kind of over OOIAJ right now (I really do go through phases), but thankfully, I (and my office kitchen) came prepared.

I started with these elements…:

… and ended up with this:

So simple but oh so good.

Into the mix went:

  • Strawberry 0% Chobani
  • 3 strawberries, sliced
  • handful blueberries
  • handful blackberries
  • 1 tbs pecan pieces
  • ~1/2 cup Honey Nut Cheerios (the office kitchen addition)

Perfection.

Lunch, too, had me back on track.

This salad was actually and seriously awesome.

I love when I get back on salad kicks.

They never last long, though.

Into the mix went:

  • bed of baby greens
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 serving chickpeas
  • 1 kumato, diced
  • 1/3 red pepper, diced
  • Greek Goddess dressing

Yum!

I mean, come on, how fresh does that look?

Anyway, snack was a banana and peanut butter and I had absolutely no problem (or even fleeting second thought) about turning down someone’s birthday ice cream cake, so I think I got a little sugared (it’s totally a word) out yesterday.

Okay, now here’s the fun part.

Tell me about your WORST Valentine’s Day ever.

Ready?

GO!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Back on Track

  1. I love how you mentioned that bad days end when you go to bed, so true! Looks like youve had some tasty and healthy meals since then! I don’t ever remember having an awful Valentines day…My worst valentines day probably occured while I was in high school. Although I have no recollection of them, I was super awkward back then so it couldn’t have been good 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Back on Track | Kaitlin With Honey -- Topsy.com

  3. Thankfully, I don’t think I have a *worst* Valentine’s Day story because I’ve never had any guy drama going on. They’re usually just like any other day for me.

  4. My worst Valentine’s day was when I was dating this guy. (Or I thought I was) We went out to breakfast and then he asked if I would go to Target with him. He bought 10 boxes of conversation hearts and asked me to help me pick out all of the white ones and put them into one big box. I thought it was weird but did it since I really liked the guy. Afterwards, he said “Okay, I’m going to drop these off at my ex-girlfriend’s house, wish me luck!” He kissed me on the top of my head and left. I was so annoyed.

    Hours later, he called me and said “Oh she didn’t say anything about the hearts yet, I know she loves the white ones.” and wanted a pep talk about how she must have appreciated the gift. UGHHHHH

  5. Aw, I’m sorry to hear that you had a bad Valentine’s Day 😦

    I don’t really have any bad Valentine’s Day stories! I sat on my couch, ate ice cream and watched Jeopardy yesterday, so I’d say my night was a success. I’m also feeling the sugar hangover today, but I definitely did not eat as healthy as you did today… as evidenced by the fact that I just finished a bowl of ice cream 🙂

  6. I can’t think of a worst Valentine’s day every, probably either because I’ve blocked it out or because I’ve never really been into celebrating it, in or out of a relationship. The one time an ex and I tried to do the whole fancy restaurant 3 course meal was such a frustrating, expensive experience that I vowed never again. Meh. I’ve had about a million horrible other holidays though! 🙂
    By the way, your salad looks AMAZING! I need to put chickpeas in a salad again soon…

  7. Sorry to hear about the poopy day! I think Valentine’s Day is the most over-hyped holiday in the world. I mean, why not show your love 364 days a year? Why is it about 1 day and the must-have for flowers, pricey dinners, chocolates, etc.?

    That cereal with Chobani bowl looks pretty darn magical!

Leave a Reply

