Do A Good Thing!

Remember when I got coffee with my really awesome friend, Melanie?

You know, this girl?

The one on the left. The other one is me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well, she’s pretty great (Melanie, not me).

So great, in fact, that when I directed three plays during my senior year of college (it was an intense year), I cast her in every single one of them. She’s talented and fun. How could I not have continued to keep her around?

The first play was one called Moon Over Buffalo. Here she is with some of the other cast members (you may recognize Will…)

I don’t have any pictures of the second play on hand, but the third play was called Rumors. Melanie’s sandwiched here between Will and… do you recognize him? That’s Mark! Baby freshman Mark.

Anyway, you may be wondering why I’m bringing all of this up.

Well, to make her ever cooler than I already knew she was, it turns out she’s running a half marathon in honor of a student at her school (Melanie is an elementary school teacher) who has leukemia.

She’s doing the half marathon through Team in Training to raise money for this little boy and his family and it would mean the world to me if you wouldn’t mind stopping over at her page and donating whatever you can. Even $5 can make a difference!

Anyway…

I’m also totally distracting you because the food front around here has been… pretty boring.

Like, really boring. I’ve had frozen meals for two of my last three meals.

I know.

They were both Amy’s meals, though, so at least they were about as wholesome as frozen meals can get!

Dinner last night was actually not even my own food. I got home super late and didn’t feel like cooking, so Mark came to my rescue with a frozen meal he’d gotten for himself. He’s great.

So was the meal, actually. I never would have picked this out myself but I really enjoyed it. Hooray for expanding my taste buds!

(source)

I didn’t even take a picture of the bowl I ate. I was starving. Sorry.

Would you believe I’d never actually had a tamale before last night? I probably shouldn’t have started with a frozen one. Oh, well. I enjoyed it. It gives me hope for fresh ones.

Lauren is totally going to yell at me when she reads this. She believes in fresh tamales. She’s never said it but I know it to be true.

The second frozen meal of the past 24 hours was my lunch today. I have a few frozen meals stashed at work for days like today, when I just didn’t have a moment to get a lunch together. Today’s was a Brown Rice & Vegetables Bowl.

(source)

Prepare for an iPhone pic! Because, really, lugging my camera to the office kitchen for a frozen meal would be pretty lame.

I added Sriracha. It burned but I liked it.

(TWSS? No. Never mind.)

(And yes, that minuscule amount of hot sauce is in a coffee cup lid. I wasn’t committed enough to actually add it to my bowl. I dipped. Wimp.)

Breakfast, at least, was something I made myself. I know, one out of three, but whatevs.

Even though it was cold (and by cold I mean a little under 60 degrees) and miserable (by which I mean light rain) in LA today, I could not get rid of my craving for a smoothie. Intense workouts will do that to you.

And by intense workout, I do actually mean intense. Boot camp was tough this morning. I mean, it’s always tough, but I felt it more than usual this morning.

Back to the smoothie.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • huge handful fresh baby spinach (I might even call this 2 handfuls)
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/3 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1/2 cup + ~ 1 tbs unsweetened almond milk
  • heaping tbs 0% plain green yogurt (TJ’s)
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey protein powder

On top:

  • 2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • vanilla almond granola (Fresh & Easy)

Totally hit the spot. Even though I was freezing when I finished it.

Anybody else signing up for any new races like Melanie has?

I wish I could! I so, so wish I could.

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “Do A Good Thing!

  1. Oh I miss taking pictures in the green room before shows! I miss my live theater days!

    I need to register for a race ASAP, and am looking at this one in Malibu, but it looks sketch. Have you heard of any in LA that look somewhat mellow in size, but good nonetheless?

  2. haha wait whaaaaaaat? That girl on the left is NOT YOU??!!! So confusing!!!

    I kid.

    I really do.

    Also, I hear those frozen meals are nothing to scoff at! At least they’re not so bad to lean on when you don’t have time to make something fresh (aka: far too often, around these parts).

    PS I’m thinking we should have a slumber party, where you make me some of that almond bark, and I teach you how to French braid. And I promise you won’t get a tummy ache because I will eat ALL the bark. Scouts honor.

    It could be fun. Think about it.

  3. and by these parts, I mean my parts. Not yours. That would be rude.

    And by my parts, I mean, my homestead situation. Not my lady parts, or anything else weird like that. Because that would be weird.

    I feel weird now.

  4. Hey, if you’re going to eat frozen meals, those are a good choice ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love the TWSS- I was thinking the same thing!

    I just signed up for a 5k- I wish you could do it too! You will be back to running before you know it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Allispin

    Hey Kaitlin! I’m running a 10K in March and I’m pretty pumped, although I haven’t bought new running shoes in like 5 years.. probably should get on that. Stat.

Leave a Reply

