Lucky

My life has been kind of a whirlwind over the past few days. It’s funny, because my weekend was one of doing almost nothing. I took a yoga class on Saturday and went to that awesome dinner party on Sunday, but other than that, I took it very easy. This is mostly because I really needed the alone time.

Anyway, Monday through Wednesday (aka today) of this week have been very intense. Lots of life planning going on. Lots of things to do before and after work. Read: no time to think about food.

I’m lucky to have a few things in my life to make it easier.

Lucky #1: Cool companies and brands that appreciate bloggers and our love for them, who in turn sometimes send us stuff for us to sample and enjoy, or, in Coach’s Oats‘ case, to give away.

One such cool company (and I’m fairly sure you’ve seen me mention them on the blog, you know, once or twice), is Chobani.

They sent me their three new regular flavors (Lemon, Black Cherry, & Mango), plus their two new “kid” flavors, or Champion Chobani, (Honey -Nana & Verry Berry). I was so excited.

I’m kind of a food hoarder, so it actually took me a few days to break into these. I got them last week.

I decided to start with the Black Cherry.

And, naturally, I decided to make a yogurt bowl. I did, however, taste the yogurt on its own first, and it was really good!

Into the mix went:

  • Chobani Black Cherry 0% Greek Yogurt
  • Deep Chocolate VitaTop
  • 3 strawberries, sliced
  • 1/3 banana, sliced
  • blueberries
  • sprinkle of walnuts

Chobani made my life easier for my Tuesday morning breakfast, too. As usual (lately), I had PT on Tuesday morning and needed to bring a transportable breakfast to work.

This one wasn’t one of their free samples, but I still loved it (duh)!

This…

Became this…

Which became this!

Happiness.

Lucky #2: I have forethought.

Since I had a little bit of time on Monday morning, I prepared my lunches for both Monday and Tuesday ahead of time.

Monday’s lunch:

This was the first time I’ve had TJ’s Tofu Spring Rolls, and I loved them.

The hint of mint was fantastic.

Since I wasn’t sure this would be enough food (I really am a volume eater),  I decided to also make a small, simple side salad of baby greens and shredded carrots with TJ’s Spicy Asian Peanut Dressing.

I shouldn’t have bothered with the dressing, though, and wish I hadn’t. The dipping sauce for the spring rolls would have made for an awesome dressing and I hardly made a dent in it with the spring rolls. Oh well, lesson learned… I will definitely be having these spring rolls again!

Yum.

Tuesday’s (pre-packed) lunch, while not as good as Monday’s, was still good.

Into the mix went:

  • bed of baby greens
  • broccoli slaw
  • shredded carrots
  • 1 serving chickpeas
  • cucumber
  • Greek Goddess dressing

It was huge. I couldn’t finish it.

(TWSS)

(Sorry.)

Oh, and forethought saved my Wednesday lunch, too, because I keep a few frozen lunch backups in the freezer just for occasions like today, when I had an appointment before work and was unable to bring anything in.

All I was really feeling was vegetables, so I heated up two Green Giant packs – one with beans and one of just veggies to give the meal some bulk.

It was actually awesomely delicious and I was stuffed afterward.

Lucky #3: I have a wonderful roommate who always, always manages to step it up and help me out whenever I’m stressed. That, and he also seems to be kind of psychic because it’s usually when I need it most, but haven’t told him so, that he does things like make dinner for the both of us.

Both Monday night’s dinner and Tuesday night’s dinner were courtesy of Mark. He made an ah-mazing caramelized onion & mushroom frittata.

I want to eat it over and over again.

Unfortunately, it’s all gone now.

One of the best parts was the bubbly, cheesy, burnt topping – a very happy accident!

Oh, and I was especially lucky to have the frittata on Tuesday night, when I had an appointment and thus only had about 10 minutes to figure out and eat dinner.

Breakfast this morning was kind of thanks to him, too.

Mark made a trip to Great Harvest the other day, so he picked up some more Cinnamon Raisin Chip bread (amongst others).

This morning, I had an important appointment, so I needed to properly fuel! I was originally going to make an egg sandwich, but it was too bulky.

So, I topped one piece with a Laughing Cow cheese and a fried egg and just spread a little Smart Balance (after the pictures were taken) on the other.

Sooooo good. I love sweet and savory.

However, that breakfast (produce-free) also totally explains why all I wanted for lunch was a big bowl of veggies. 🙂

Anyway, even though the past few days haven’t been the best, I think it’s a good thing to count my blessings. Those time-saving blessings above have been wonderful over the past few days!

What little things have made you feel lucky recently?

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “Lucky

  1. Rachel

    The blessings of my family make me feel lucky; my older daughter in particular!

  2. MmMmM woww your eats look amazing. especially those tofu spring rolls! LOVE YOUR BLOG.. Ill def be back soon;)

  3. I did an open faced egg sandwich today for breakfast 🙂 Love it.

  4. I wish I lived with a boy who cooked for me. Unfortunately, I live with two girls who don’t cook, yet mysteriously leave dishes in the sink. Hmm…

  5. I am so jealous that you got the lemon yogurt! I have been looking for it EVERYWHERE. I found the black cherry recently and loved it 🙂

  6. Wow, that is impressive how ahead of schedule you have been staying with your eats. As my schedule picks up with work events I need to get better at this – and quick!

  7. That frittata looks sooo delicious. I want Mark to cook for me too. YUM!

    The black cherry chobani is my new favorite.

  8. yowza. all this food looks amazing, kaitlin! i am in love with the new chobanis.

Leave a Reply

