Thai Tuna Stuffed Peppers

This one is super simple.

Like, it tastes homemade and really complicated, but the truth is that I don’t think it took longer than 15 minutes to prepare. And, that whole time, I was hardly paying any attention. Truth be told, I was more wrapped up in my conversation with Mark than I was with my preparation process.

Thai Tuna Stuffed Peppers

makes 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 orange bell peppers (red and yellow would both work too)
  • 1/2 cup dry rice
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s Tuna in Red Panang Curry Sauce

No, seriously, that’s it!

Directions

Slice the tops off of the bell peppers and clean out the insides.

Broil peppers in oven (I just used a toaster oven) to soften for the duration of cooking your rice (about ten minutes).

Cook your rice on the stove (mostly) using the directions on the bag/ box.

(Look, I didn’t burn it this time!)

(The trick was using your tips to add more water… and also watching super carefully! Thank you.)

When your rice is just about done cooking, follow the directions on the tuna package and microwave. It only takes 2 minutes!

Stir the cooked tuna into the rice. Take the peppers out of the oven and stuff the pepper with the tuna and rice mixture.

Broil the stuffed peppers for about ten more minutes, or until the tops have browned.

I seriously loved this recipe, if you can even call it that. It was the perfect amount of food and totally packed with flavor.

The best part was the crunchy part on top.

And yes, I totally saved that for last.

I also followed dinner with a carob cupcake that Mark made the other day. It wasn’t frosted, so I topped it with some white chocolate chips and microwaved it.

While he didn’t love the recipe, I totally did, so I’m going to try to finagle it out of him.

Of course, he still hasn’t shared his banana bread recipe. And it’s a winner, too! Even he thinks so.  He should really get on that.

Which reminds me that I still haven’t posted the recipe for my Inception cupcakes… I, in turn, should really get on that!

What’s your favorite easy-but-seems-fancy recipe? Feel free to post links!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

6 responses to “Thai Tuna Stuffed Peppers

  1. you tried panang!!! 🙂 yum!!!!!

  2. Yum, I need to try making stuffed peppers sometime soon!

  3. actorsdiet

    that DOES look fancy and simple! i was just eyeing that tuna at tj’s today!

  4. I don’t have any but I’ve always always wanted to try stuffed peppers! this recipe looks yummy 🙂

  5. Grilled shrimp!

    For each pound of shrimp, you need
    -Enough olive oil to coat the shrimp
    -1/2 tsp Old Bay
    -1/2 tsp paprika
    -1/2 tsp garlic salt
    -Lime

    Mix the oil, Old bay, paprika, and garlic salt in a bowl.
    Peel the shrimp, dip both sides in the mixture, and put them on a skewer (if you use wooden ones, be sure to soak them in water first).
    Grill until the tails turn orange, remove from the grill, and drizzle lime over all of them.

    Sooo easy and so delicious! My family and boyfriend are always impressed when I make this.

  6. Please do finagle this recipe and the banana bread recipe out of him! Both look amazing. I can’t find the recipe (I’m sure I have it written down somewhere- I must!) but I make sopapilla cheesecake pie for my family’s birthdays sometimes. It looks really fancy, but it’s mostly storebought ingredients!

Leave a Reply

