Apartment Upgrades

So, this week is… intense, to say the least. I have something planned every single morning before work (except today) and every single night after work. In some cases, I’ve even booked more than one thing after work! Tonight is one of those nights.

I was supposed to go out for dinner last night with Kelley, but when I found myself feeling pretty sick, I sadly had to postpone.

So, instead of a night out with a blogger friend at a restaurant I’ve long wanted to try, it was this kind of night:

Wild and crazy.

(That’s shredded parmesan on top, in case you’re wondering. You probably weren’t, though, since you know I put parmesan on… everything.)

Solitaire and I got craaaazy last night.

I couldn’t even stay up long enough to do a load of laundry. I was in bed by 9:30.

Thankfully, it was definitely the right thing to do; I woke up this morning feeling a thousand times better. In fact, I woke up early enough this morning to do that load of laundry and clean the apartment, which really needed to be done because I have a guest coming this weekend!

I’m not sure I’ll have another free moment to do that, so hopefully Mark and I will be able to keep it up.

(Hint hint, Mark. 😀 )

(Seriously, you all feel so bad for him right now, right?)

Speaking of the apartment (and of Mark), Mark and I have made some fun new changes and I want to share them with you. Now, we’re no Young House Love (and we’re probably moving in a few months anyway, so we’re not doing anything intense or permanent), but I’m still pretty excited about the upgrades.

Upgrade #1: We took down the Christmas lights we’ve had up since… Christmas.

Upgrade #2: I got a new mirror to replace that ugly flower poster I’ve had from IKEA for years.

If I’m being honest, I found out that the mirror (purchased from a yard sale) is an IKEA mirror. I’m pretending it isn’t, though. The mind is a powerful thing.

Upgrade #3: New pillows for the couch to replace those ugly IKEA rainbow pillows I’ve had for years (anyone sensing a theme here?).

Really, though,  I’d also like to replace the couch. And the eating table. And the eating table’s chairs. And the side tables. And the table that holds the TV. Okay. I’ll stop… but I could go on.

(They’re all from IKEA, by the way. Not to hate on IKEA – it’s good for a lot of things and appreciably cheap – I’m just really, really over this stuff.)

Upgrade #4: New “accent pieces” for the awkward should-be-a-bar-but-it’s-not-because-it’s-behind-the-stove area.

Really, most of that is recycled. Each wine bottle represents a memory with said bottle – you may be able to tell that there is something written on almost every one of them. The milk jars are from milk that Mark buys (cute, right?). The only direct purchases were that I got the fake flowers and the decorative rocks/ sea shells from Michaels, collectively for under $10.

The part that I’m really excited about, though, is hidden behind that area.

See it?

Upgrade #5: Two shelves to clear out our pantry and show off our Ball (and other) jars and spices!

Now, this is definitely still a work in progress (some jars need to be cleaned up better, for instance, and we need to label all of the jars), but I’m pretty excited about this one. I’ve wanted to do it for a while, both because I like the shabby-chicness of Ball jars and because our pantry has been entirely overloaded with stuff.

A really small kitchen for two foodies is not an easy thing to deal with.

It may not look awesome to you, but compared to how it looked before, our pantry now looks incredible.

Anyway, you’ve already seen the last one, but I’ll show it to you again just because it’s a part of our whole “upgrade.”

Upgrade #6: A nice TV.

One of the two ugly flower pictures is still hung here, but at least we were able to get rid of one. I can’t wait to replace the one that remains.

Anybody in LA looking to get rid of any artwork? I’d be happy to take it off your hands.

Other than the TV, which was a gift, everything here was super cheap or was a re-utilization of something.

  • Ball jar shelves: $10/ each
  • Mirror: $10 (which I thought was a little steep, but the people holding the yard sale wouldn’t budge even when I tried to bargain… and I wanted it)
  • Fake flowers/ rocks/ sea shell pieces: $10 altogether
  • New set of Ball jars: $15
  • Pillows: free from a friend

Anyway, taking all those pictures make me work up an appetite!

(Yup, awkward transition. Just go with it.)

Breakfast allowed me to break in one of the new Chobani yogurts. It was about to expire. I actually, sadly, let the new Lemon yogurt that they sent me expire. It was an accident and I was kind of devastated.

How did I let this happen? Because I am such a food hoarder. Seriously, it’s a problem. I won’t even let Mark open the new Girl Scout Cookies because I want to “save” them. Similarly, I was “saving” the Lemon Chobani because I was so excited about it. Yes, I know that doesn’t make any sense.

Like I said, I have a problem.

However, since I recognized this problem after tearfully throwing out the expired Lemon yogurt (I checked it and it was definitely inedible), I did manage to use the new 2% Mango this morning.

Hallelujah.

If you haven’t had it yet, you should know that it’s awesome – so awesome that it comes in as a close second to the 2% Pineapple, which will probably be my favorite yogurt for the rest of my life.

It’s a good thing I don’t make broad, sweeping statements about anything.

Into the mix went:

  • 2% Mango Chobani
  • blackberries
  • strawberries
  • pomegranate seeds
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax (It’s been so long! Welcome back, old friend.)

Good thing I don’t talk to inanimate objects or food, either.

All mixed up, to prove I had show off the yogurt:

Yum.

Lunch for the past two days has been leftovers of the awesome dinner I made for an impromptu on Sunday night, but I’m waiting for something else to come together before I share it.

So mysterious…

Have you made any upgrades to your apartment/ house/ living space lately?

16 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

16 responses to “Apartment Upgrades

  1. Your apartment is beautiful! If and when I move, I’ll need your decorating tips- I am hopeless! My sister wants to paint our bedroom mustard yellow, but my parents don’t want us to paint. I can’t wait until I can make that decision for myself, haha!

  2. My apartment is awful, especially our bedroom. I am a hoarder and have way too much stuff. I need to cut back! I should take pictures. It’s bad.

    I love the way your place looks!

  3. Glad you’re feeling better!!! See, told you soup would work! lol Your place looks great! Love the ball jars. That looks really nice!

  4. hahha awkward transition was my favorite part.

    so I know your pillows were free from a friend, but do you have any idea where they came from? I LOVE them!

    Also: you should keep your ugly flower posters! Just paint over them (or do some other sort of DIY) and make your own artwork! Then you will have free art, and exactly how you want it (well, you know, the colors and such that you want. The overall affect may be less than desired, but that’s contingent on your artistic skills. My painting skills are limited, but I still think it’s fun to have my art on the walls. Especially since I’m on a budget!)

  5. Katie R

    Hey Kaitlin,
    Just so you know, the date on yogurt is usually more for consumer preference than food safety. The good bacteria that are present in yogurt and the acidic environment of the yogurt naturally inhibit spoilage. So if you have an expired yogurt, you don’t need to automatically toss it. Open the container, smell it, and look for mold. If it looks and smells fine, it should be okay to eat. It just may be a little more sour than normal (the level of acidity tends to increase over the shelf life of the yogurt).

  6. Katie R

    Oh, and I am a food hoarder too 🙂

  7. I still live in a dorm room…ANYTHING would be an upgrade from this! haha …I love chobani though, I had some today too 🙂

  8. I totally feel you on the Ikea furniture! I am slowly working on adult-upgrades all over our apartment and am just taking it piece by piece. I have a list and try to tackle one thing each month – but I do get really impatient about it.

    Your place looks great! And I love the public ball jars! 🙂

  9. ah, i had the mango one but never got to try it because of my stupid lactose intolerance and gave it to whit. i hope he enjoyed it, cause that sucker was not cheap coming from my tiny town!

    and i love the new accessories to the apt! Can’t wait to see them in person in…less than two weeks?! right!??!!? and btw, i thought of you the other day when i was at marshalls shopping for something to wear to our blogger dinner party…success!

  10. Pingback: Chobani Love & Giveaway! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

