Oats: Sweet vs. Savory

I’ve wanted to try savory oats for a while.

Savory oatmeal is one of those meals that I never, ever would have thought of on my own. And then, even having had the idea sparked in my head, I still probably would have shied away from the idea (or forgotten about it entirely) without   a few reminders.

The blog world is good about that. Trends tend to catch on.

I have trouble with change, though, even when I really want to try something new.

So, to jump back into oats (it had been a while!), I first had my oats the “normal” way.

Sweet

Delicious, as usual. Pretty, too, since I decided to take the time to arrange it all rather than employing my usual “throw it all together in a bowl” method.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2-3 dashes cinnamon
  • capful vanilla extract

On top:

  • blackberries
  • strawberries
  • pomegranate seeds
  • Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter

Does anyone else mostly eat around the peanut butter so they can have a big bite of it at the end?

I always pull things like that. I’m weird.

Now, for the other side…

Savory

These were pretty good. And, even though I’ve never actually had cheesy grits (or, for that matter, more than a single spoonful of any kind of grits, ever), I imagine this is pretty much what they’re like.

(My apologies to my southern friends if I am completely off base here).

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (actually used vanilla flavor here and did not notice it at all)
  • ~1 1/2 tbs grated parmesan & roman
  • ~1 tbs shredded lowfat cheddar cheese
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • tsp Earth Balance (stirred in right at the end)

On top:

  • 1 fried egg, over easy, with sprinkles of salt, pepper & a little cheddar for good measure (heyyyy rhyme)

I got full very quickly from this breakfast, which was both a good and bad thing. To most people, this would probably just be a good thing… but I like to savor my breakfast, so I was kind of bummed out when I was over it so quickly.

Just ask Mark. I pouted. Only briefly, though.

I liked this a lot, but I think it might be more of a dinner in my book. For now, I think I’ll stick to sweet oats in the morning. I missed my nut butter!

(Plus, you know, I have over eight jars of nut butter in my pantry, so I should probably use nut butters as often as possible…)

P.S. – Happy birthday to my beautiful sister!

Have you tried savory oats? What did you think?

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

13 responses to “Oats: Sweet vs. Savory

  1. Lauren

    I’ve never tried this, but I’m going to this weekend! Oatmeal and cheese?! Two of my favorite things! What kind of oats do you buy?

  2. I’ve never had savory oats, I think I love ginger, brown sugar and fruits too much but your sav oats looks realllllly tasty!

  3. oh, it’s been too long since i’ve had my favorite savory oats! I like to make my oats in veg stock or plain, then top it off with marinara and an egg or some beans or fake meat crumbles. soooo good!

  4. I have never tried savory oats…Im with you, sweets for the morning! That recipe you posted sounds really good though, Ill have to try it for dinner sometime.

  5. runyogarepeat

    I love how you arranged your sweet oats – so cute! I tried a similar savory oats to you, but I wasn’t a fan of the egg + oats texture. I like eggs on top of quinoa though.

  6. I’m with you in that I totally would have NEVER tried or thought up savory oats on my own…the idea seemed gross to me! But once I finally tried them I actually enjoyed it! I’m still more of a sweets girl though, that’s for sure:) PS! I’m trying your recipe tomorrow, it sounds so simple and so yummy!

  7. I love cheesy grits but for whatever reason, I can’t wrap my head around savory oats. Which is weird, I know! I have a lot of food hang-ups!

  8. I’ve never tried them…hmmm maybe I’ll have to now..but your sweet ones look so pretty 😉

  9. I have tried savory oats before, but tried using sweet potato and it just didn’t work. I like your cheese addition!

    Happy Birthday Kaitlin’s sister!

  10. I tried making savory oats a few times and mine never turned out well. The last time I made them, I turned them into more of a baked oatmeal texture and it was much better! I want to give your recipe a try, though- looks way better than mine 🙂

  11. I’ve never tried savory oats before but they both look delicious 🙂

  12. Jen

    Hmmm. Interesting. I never would have thought about making oats savory, but I am 100% intrigued right now!

Leave a Reply

