A Fresh Start

I have a ridiculous amount of life to catch you guys up on right now.

A good deal of it will have to wait for other posts. For instance, on Thursday night , my friend Katy flew in to visit for the weekend (yes, right after the wine fest… lucky Katy). On Friday night, I went to Ladyface Alehouse with a bunch of other bloggers. On Saturday and Sunday, I did LA up like I was a tourist… for, you know, Katy’s sake.

Oh, also, Friday was my last day at my old job and today, I started a new job.

The new job is just for a little while, but it’s allowing me to make the jump from reality TV to scripted TV, which is a jump I have long been eager to make. So, while it was a sort of scary and risky decision, it’s one about which I am very excited.

This morning, I returned to the gym after almost 4 entire weeks off. All I did was 60 minutes on a stationary bike (booooring, but better than nothing, or so I thought), which was at the suggestion of my Physical Therapist.

I wish I had better news for you. Well, really, I just wish I had better news for myself.

The truth, however, is that my knee now hurts like hell and I don’t know when I’ll be back to the gym again. It’s probably no surprise to you that this is just about the last thing I wanted to happen. My PT actually thinks I may have a problem beyond “runner’s knee” and wants me to go to a doctor and get an MRI. At this point, I’m honestly not sure what I would hope to learn from an MRI. While I obviously don’t want to find out that things are even worse than I already thought, I have to admit that it would almost be something of a relief if I could just be given some kind of definitive answer that would subsequently (hopefully) offer some kind of tangible solution.

I miss working out more than I can express. I’ve tried not writing about it much here because I am well aware that there are much bigger problems going on in the world and I don’t want to sound like I don’t have any perspective. However, I can also notice the day-to-day effects on my life of not exercising. I’m gaining weight, for one. That’s just how my metabolism works. Another problem is that I sincerely miss my endorphins. A third is that I desperately miss the “me time” that the my workouts used to offer. I could go on.

I just hope this all gets figured out soon. My workouts have long been my favorite time of day and it’s hard not to have them.

In brighter news, though, even if I can’t return to the gym like I thought I could, I am using today as a “fresh start” in other ways.The past couple of months, if I’m being entirely honest, have not been my finest. I went through a tough phase in my life in a variety of personal senses, and I wouldn’t be an honest blogger if I didn’t tell you that I definitely didn’t eat as well as I could have during this time. I didn’t go crazy with food or anything – I still stayed (mostly) true to eating healthy foods – but I found myself eating more based on emotions and less based on actual hunger. I also started to develop a mindset of “well, I’m going to gain weight anyway, so what the heck!” This led, perhaps, to more crackers and more desserts than I can claim to having needed.

For the record, that was really stupid.

So, I used this weekend of having a guest as a “last hurrah,” I suppose, and then I woke up this morning determined to get back on a healthier track. Being at a new office is helpful, as it breaks me out of  any bad habits that I had there (aka grabbing “calorie-free” handfuls of goldfish from the office kitchen). I’ve already made the decision that I’m just not going to start having any of the office kitchen snacks here except for the fruit, which thankfully seems to be plentiful.

This morning, I started off with a – wait for it – yogurt bowl. 🙂

Shocking, I know.

Before that, when it was pretty:

Into the mix went:

  • Siggi’s blueberry yogurt(Which had definitely expired 2 days earlier, but like hell was I going to throw out a $2 yogurt. It was fine.)
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • blackberries

Though I brought a salad for lunch, my new bosses were awesome enough to treat me to lunch (take-out) from a restaurant in Hollywood called Bossa Nova.

I got the Warm Spinach Salad, which is “fresh spinach and fresh arugula tossed with sauteed green and red bell peppers, shitake mushrooms, onions, sundried tomatoes and skinless boneless chicken breast deglazed in Marsala wine.”

It was… pretty fantastic.

Not a bad way to begin my “fresh start,” right?

Anybody else feel like they need a fresh start these days? What are your go-to “fresh start” meals?

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “A Fresh Start

  1. So happy you are making a new start 🙂

    I like to start fresh with anytime natural and preservative free. Something like an orange is a good go to for me. It’s nice and clean and my insides feel better after having had it. Yogurt bowl sounds like a great “restart” food.

    Someone once told me that a fresh start can occur at any time during the day… who says a day has to start at midnight? Sometimes when I have an icky day, or series of days or hey even weeks I just tell myself that “that’s over now” and I hit the restart button in my head. Glad to see you hitting the restart button 🙂

  2. I’m glad we could be your last hurrah! A great way to end it and your new beginnings look delicious too!

  3. Congratulations on the new job! That’s exciting 🙂

    I definitely feel like I could use a fresh start. I started out the year with the typical New Year’s mindset of wanting to exercise more and eat cleaner, but I don’t think I’m eating as healthy as I could be and I know I’m eating more than I should be. It’s frustrating to be gaining weight, but I know the mindless snacking is catching up to me. I woke up in a food coma yesterday and my breakfast was a big green smoothie, which always helps me feel better!

  4. I need a fresh start with a lot of things 🙂

  5. Sorry to hear that the gym was a busy! Do you think walks would irritate your leg if you are on a flat surface? How about yoga?

    The past two Saturdays I have gone on 2 hour long walks with my Kindle at a faster pace, but on level surface – it feels great just to move.

    Love the outlook! And fresh starts are the best. I moved to a new part of the office floor this Monday and feel the fresh starts all around me! 😉

    Lets have a yogurt bowl date soon!

  6. Sorry about your knee, friend. I honestly wish I could cast a spell “REPARO” and make it better. I know how much this is frustrating you. I’ve been thinking healing thoughts for you.

    The fruit as a snack idea is awesome. I love fresh fruit!

Leave a Reply

