Katy and Kaitlin Do LA: Day 1

Despite the evening before, Katy and I were up bright and early on Saturday morning to “do Hollywood.”

First, of course, we had to fuel up with breakfast. Katy, an avid KWH reader, requested oatmeal. Naturally, I obliged.

Into the mix (for two) went:

  • 2/3 cups oats
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 2/3 cups almond milk
  • 2 capfuls vanilla
  • a few generous dashes of cinnamon
  • drizzle of honey

On top:

  • pomegranate seeds
  • strawberries
  • Bees Knees PB (Katy’s)
  • Dark Chocolate PB (mine)

We then went to Hollywood Boulevard, where I wouldn’t be caught dead if it weren’t for a guest, where we posed with some stars, handprints and t-shirts.

Nic Cage and Uncle Jesse. Love!

Winning! Duh!

We couldn’t resist.

Aww… I really do now!

That’s me with the Harry Potter stars. Naturally.

We also saw Grauman’s Chinese Theater…

The Kodak Theater (where the Oscars are held!)…

The El Capital Theater…

And the Hollywood Sign…

After we exhausted all that Hollywood Blvd had to offer, we headed down to Santa Monica.

We first went to the 3rd Street Promenade, where we came across this group of young people dressed up as elderly people, dancing? I don’t know.

It was weird.

We also went to the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market, which was fun but didn’t have as many things to “taste test” as my hungry tummy would have liked.

We then, of course, went to the pier.

Soon, we were starving, so we hurried our way to my favorite Santa Monica restaurant, Real Food Daily.

We split two wraps – the Grilled Veggie Wrap and the Tempeh BLT wrap.

Both were OMG good.

Here’s Katy, impatiently hungrily posing with our food…

And then here’s me, posing with my finished plate. But look closely. The picture wasn’t really meant to be of me.

Because ANDREW GARFIELD (from The Social Network and the next Spiderman!) was sitting behind me!

Don’t worry. We totally played it cool. Mostly.

That evening, we went out for a couple of quick slices of pizza. We split two slices – a Margherita and a White. The white pizza was a thousand times superior.

The quick dinner was in part to our huge lunches and in part because we were heading over to the Comedy Store, thanks to my friend Robert, who hooked us up with tickets!

Some of the comedians were really funny. Some were just “okay.” Some were totally offensive. All in all, though, we had a great time!

Back tomorrow with “Day 2.” ๐Ÿ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “Katy and Kaitlin Do LA: Day 1

  1. I love, love, love the celeb sighting picture. Too funny! This post made me kind of want to revisit some fun places in L.A. Andy and I are old grumps about it. We need to get over it.

  2. Claire

    That guy is super cool. English accents are the bomb. (If you haven’t heard him use it, check out The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus) The only place I ever see celebs is on the Universal lot. Lame.

  3. I love the subtle picture of Andrew Garfield. Did I do that with my crush in high school? Of course.

  4. Geez, you did EVERYTHING on day 1 by itself! I’m impressed! That takes a lot of stamina.

  5. I did the whole hollywood thing a couple weeks ago with some visiting friends as well. I never see anyone famous though! So cool that you did!

  6. Libby

    looks like fun. good thing katy’s already been to the REAL Grauman’s theatre at MGM in Disney, so she could appreciate the attention to detail in the re-crated one.

  7. Ahhh!! Andrew Garfield!
    And oh Hollywood Blvd… I’ve had to take visitors there, too. :/

  8. Pingback: Katy and Kaitlin Do LA: Day 2 | Kaitlin With Honey

  9. Mark

    I think I’m going to call Rodeo Drive, Rodeo (Ro-dee-oh) drive from now on. Because horses are great and that’s how it’s spelled!

  10. I love having guests in town because it forces you to go do all the LA tourista things. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I need more celebrity sightings in my life!

Leave a Reply

