Pizza Party!

On Saturday night, Mark and I hosted a blogger make-your-own-pizza party. Per usual with this crowd, it was a blast. And, per usual with this crowd, there were plenty of amazing things to eat and drink.

The set up of this party was that I provided the bases – dough, sauce, & cheeses – and everyone else would be responsible for bringing toppings, drinks and appetizers or desserts.

Katherine and her mom were on top of the appetizers.

They offered toasted baguette slices, a white bean dip, an eggplant dip, and a really delicious soft cheese.

I had a few slices, alternately topped with either dip and a piece of cheese.

I also offered up some chips.

I got these Tostito Artisan chips, of both the Roasted Garlic & Black Bean and Fire-Roasted Chipotle varieties, from Foodbuzz as part of their Tastemaker program.

Both were good, though I preferred the Roasted Garlic & Black Bean chips to the Chipotle ones.

We easily finished both bags. What can I say? We food bloggers know how to eat!

Oh, and, like always, there was plenty of this.

Plenty.

Once everyone (everyone being Katherine, her mom, Amanda, Andy, Kelley, Melissa and Whit) showed up, it was finally time to start on dinner.

First, I set out the salad.

Behind the scenes:

Love it. Love bloggers.

People got started on eating the salad while Katherine, Kelley and I got started on making the pizzas.

Katherine had to teach me how to work the dough. She was really good at it! I’m still… a work in progress.

… as evidenced by one of the attempts I made later, which Mark had to try to fix.

Whoops!

Meanwhile, Amanda and Andy held down the fort on the other side of the room, attentively watching Harry Potter.

Please enjoy Amanda’s expression as much as I do.

Naturally, both Amanda and I had to take pictures of the screen for photographic evidence. Because, you know, we do things like that.

Anyway, the pizza! The first two pizzas were both on garlic & herb crust, both  topped with a little EVOO.

One was topped with sauce, fresh mozzarella, oregano and Garlic Gold. The other, a vegan pizza, was topped with artichoke hearts, onions, butternut squash, zucchini, pine nuts, arugula flowers and garlic gold.

And all cooked and delicious…

Yum, am I right?

Not gonna lie… Amanda, Katherine and I may have fought over the burnt cheese.

The next two pizzas were on whole wheat crust. The first was a Mediterranean pizza, which had sauce, artichoke hearts, black olives, shredded mozzarella, pine nuts, grated parmesan and Garlic Gold. The second was a vegetable pizza – half vegan – with sauce, butternut squash, onions, broccoli, Garlic Gold, and shredded mozzarella on half of it.

Finally, the last two were made again on the garlic & herb crust. These two were probably my favorite pizzas of the night. One was made with sun dried tomato pesto, asiago, parmesan, Garlic Gold and pine nuts. The other was a “veggie supreme” (so named by Andy), with broccoli, zucchini, black olives, onion, Garlic Gold and shredded mozzarella.

For dessert, Melissa brought the most amazing peanut butter chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter chocolate chip coffee cake.

See the crumb mixture on top of the cake? Yea, I’m pretty sure that was made of crack.

Anyway, the rest of the night was a blur of watching Rebecca Black’s epically stupid “Friday” video…

… watching Mark do yoga…

… and, of course, taking group photos.

You know, what we do.

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “Pizza Party!

  1. I look like I’m ready to jump on top of Ron Weasley in that picture. I’m so happy to look at Ron.
    We had a blast. Can we get BFF necklaces?

  2. Mark doing yoga should be a required part of all blogger meetups!

  3. What an awesome and delicious event! I missed out! And side note, I need to try those chips. 🙂

  4. Soooo tasty and fun. i can’t wait to see you guys again!!! I miss you all already!

    and that vegan pizza was awesome. no lie.

  5. Awww, how fun to see you guys all together again. Blogger pizza party…that’s a really cool theme eh? Did you come up with that? Good one Kaitlin. Even though the pizza were all sort of shapes, they look good still.

    I got those same chips too, I haven’t opened the black bean flavor yet but I am loving the chipotle right now. I can’t wait to dig in to the other flavor.

  6. fffffffuuuuuuunnnnnn

    wanna come next time!

  7. Why Why Why am I posing like that in the last shot? What is this, top model? lol

    That was SO much fun. Those pizzas were DELICIOUS. Now I’m hungry.

    • Oh, pish posh, you look adorable! I had to use that one – the other one was totally blurry.

    • Mark

      Haha you were just doing the sorority pose that Monica taught us at Ladyface!

      P.S. Kaitlin, I do NOT remember doing yoga at all! But from the look of me in that last picture I’m sure that comes as no surprise to anyone. Whoo boy!

  8. So, I just want everyone to know this night combined pretty much all of my favorite things. But I won’t say what they are. Lets do this more often. KTHX!

  9. Mark

    ok not to sound like I’m looking at the pictures of myself with intense scrutiny, but….. Well I am. But the point is, i look like Paulie D in that last picture! Like WHOA!

Leave a Reply

