Surgery?

Check for the Chobani winner at the bottom of the post!

Please forgive my radio silence yesterday. I went straight from a doctor’s appointment to work, where I immediately I found out that I’m about to take on a lot more responsibility. I spent the rest of the day diligently trying to learn as much as possible, as quickly as possible, so it wasn’t exactly in the cards to blog.

Anyway, at that doctor’s appointment, I found out that I might need to get surgery. As you’ve probably guessed in about two seconds, it has to do with my knee.

My knees have a lot of problems – the left, of course, more than the right.

Firstly, I have hyper-extended knees, but I’ve always known that.

Secondly, I have patellofemoral syndrome, which essentially means my knee caps aren’t quite aligned the way they should be. This is one of those things I could potentially work through in PT.

Thirdly, I have runners knee in both knees. I’ve known that for a while now, though, too. The problem, though, is that when my right knee healed from runner’s knee during my time off, my left knee didn’t.

That’s when I decided it was time to go to a doctor.

So, finally, both my (as-of-yesterday-morning) orthopedic/ sports doctor and physical therapist suspect I have a meniscus tear. We won’t know for sure, though until I get an MRI. Hopefully that will happen next week.

Right now, between my knee, my job, the fact that I haven’t had a second to myself for months and a few other things going on in my life, I feel like I’m just trying to keep my head above water. One of the ways I feel like I’m able to do so is to pay close attention to how I’m fueling. With my month off from working out, I managed to gain ten pounds pretty quickly (as a result of both a lack of exercise and a stupid mentality of “giving up”).  That was making me feel kind of bad about myself and like I’d lost an important part of who I was. As you know with my “fresh start” (though I totally failed at it over the weekend, for full disclosure), I’m feeling pretty dedicated to taking more control of my health again.

Enter: lots of greens.

Twice this week, I’ve had this meal:

Into the mix went:

It’s a pretty solid salad.

Also twice this week, I’ve had this meal:

Into the mix went:

  • TJ’s panko-covered chicken
  • TJ’s green & yellow wax beans
  • Earth Balance
  • parmesan, romano & asiago
  • Garlic Gold nuggets (Only one of the times, actually. I missed it the other time.)
  • salt & pepper

And once this week, I’ve had this meal:

It was good, but I’m not sure I’d get it again. I wanted more veggies and less rice.

Still good, though. And surprisingly filling.

Oof. Okay. Back to work.

But, before I go, congratulations to my Chobani giveaway winner, Jess!


(***UPDATED: I posted the wrong picture originally — shows how tired I was when I wrote the post.  Sorry for any confusion. But yes, Jess was the winner!)

Jess, please email me so I can send your info along!

Happy weekending, my friends. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Surgery?

  1. Oh man Kaitlin. I’m sorry to hear that about your knee! Hopefully the MRI will show them EXACTLY what is wrong with your knee and they’ll be able to fix it asap. Love you!

    I know what you mean about the head above water. It’s an overwhelming feeling but I have faith in you. You CAN DO IT!

  2. gahhhh…sorry about your knee! i hope that you’re able to get things back to normal and 100% better. and those salads look awesome. how could i ever think you’d not put cheese on them?

  3. where do you find the panko chicken? it sounds great!

  4. Good luck with your knee! That must be so frustrating, but hopefully they’ll fix it soon and you’ll be good as new. I know what you mean about the fresh start. I find that when I am stressed, my food/exercise is the first thing to go. xoxo

  5. oof. I hope you get the knee thing sorted out soon. I know how much you want to work out.

  6. Oh no! I’m sorry to hear about your knee. I hope everything gets worked out soon!

  7. So sorry to hear about your knees!

    And I like your proactive mentality towards your health. Ups and downs are a part of life, and you are doing what you need to do to get back to where you want to be.

    Also, perhaps a Kaitlin weekend is in order soon. You know, no plans, just lots of movies and chilling at home with nothing to do. I seem to take them all too often. 😉

Leave a Reply

