Second Glass Wine Riot

So, this weekend, I was lucky enough to be able to attend the Second Glass Wine Riot in LA.

As press.

Seriously, blogging is THE BEST. And so is Second Glass.

Just walking in, I could tell I was going to have fun. I mean, look at how much fun the staff was having!

It was held in Santa Monica Place (in Santa Monica… who knew!). I was really impressed with the facility. It was very warehouse-esque and had lots of light. Perfect for bloggers!

Upon walking in, you’re asked to grab a glass.

It’s yours for the whole event. You rinse it out as you go along. Very kind to the environment.

We were also told we could check in on the twitter app, which lets you keep track of the wines you’re tasting.

Very good idea. They know their clientele. AKA… soon-to-be-drunk people.

One of the first things we did was to stop by the tattoo stand and get some kick-ass tattoos.

That was mine. Mark got a tiger (so him) and Justin got an octopus (also so him).

We started off, appropriately, at the Justin Wines stand .

The real fun began when Andy, Amanda, Amanda’s sister Sarah, and Sarah’s boyfriend Chris joined the party.

Sisters!

Friends!

We tasted… a lot of wines.

A lot.

Eventually, that brought me here:

Yea…

So, at this point, food was in order. Preferably, carbs.

Enter: Pretzel Crisps.

Also known as heaven.

Stephanie and Paige, who worked the Pretzel Crisps stand, were awesome. Big shout out to them!

We also got sustenance in the form of more substantial food, as well.

I got the Pea & Squash Quinoa.

Amanda fed me.

No big deal.

I mean, Andy and Mark wanted the same thing.


There was also food in dessert form. We enjoyed tastes of both Coolhaus (an old favorite!) and I Heart Pies.

I had a bite of Sarah’s Candied Bacon ice cream between two chocolate cookies. I didn’t manage to get a picture. I was too busy drooling.

From I Heart Pies, I tried a bite of Amanda and Mark’s Peanut Butter S’mores pie.ย  Yum.

And then Mark wanted to know, “Weren’t we here for the wine?”

He had a point. So, we decided to take a Crash Course in Pinot Meunier.

It was a lot of fun. We laughed, we tweeted (of course)…

… and, of course, we tasted.

That guy pouring on the right was named Heinz. And he was wearing a red shirt – get it? Get it? Also, he was cute. No big deal.

Anyway, then, of course, it was time for more wine-tasting.

One of my favorite stands was the One Hope stand.

From left to right, those wines support the environment, Breast Cancer, AIDs, our troops, and children’s hospitals.

The guy at the stand, Mike, was really passionate about these wines and the causes – and that’s just as cool.

We also hit my absolute favorite stand, Proof Wine Collective.

They’re basically anti-establishment, which isn’t usually my thing, but I just loved them and their wines.

This is Josh, who created the company.

And these guys are Tim and Alyssa, who are the Communications Director and Designer, respectively, of the company.

They had an Anti-White and an Anti-Red, which were both great… but I was OBSESSED with the Anti-White. Seriously, it was amazing. My favorite wine of the entire event.

They also had two “secret” wines, which were also both fantastic.

I wasn’t the only one who liked them, either. We all did!

The rest of the afternoon/ evening was just… pure shenanigans.

At some point when I had put my camera down, my lens broke. It was pretty depressing, but I chose to drown my sorrows in Prosecco.

Oh, and Mark (and Sarah), of course, did some yoga.

We also made some new friends!

Above are Ashley, Sebastian (??… I’m really guessing there) and Lindsey.

And below are Chris (?? again, I’m guessing), Julia and Alexandra.

Alexandra even made it into a group shot.

And then Amanda and I decided to do a photo shoot with this guy named David.

Poor kid.

After that, we went to Umami Burger… but you’ll have to wait til the next post for that stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

19 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

19 responses to “Second Glass Wine Riot

  1. It looks like you guys had a BLAST! I love all the fun photos!!!!

  2. Umm that sounds AMAZING!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I am cracking up reliving the whole event. Way too much fun!

  4. That looks like so much fine! I need to go to a wine festival like that one of these days… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. AHHHH! I WISH I WAS THERE AND NOT WRITING A STUPID PAPER. Seriously, can I just quit school and take funny pics with you guys? And also, I love that every blogger event recently is ending in yoga. Fantastic.

  6. Those are some amazing pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like you guys were totally the life of the Wine Riot party! So cool!

  7. You look like you would be fun to drink with. Is that weird to say? Because I mean it as a compliment! Haha!

  8. Mark

    “I really like that picture of me!”
    “Mark, that’s not you. That’s some asian guy.”

  9. I live vicariously through your blog – also love another Mark-yoga ending ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. dude, looks like a riot. so pissed i don’t live closer! you guys are so much fun….

  11. David is totally hating his life in those pictures. Also, best event ever? We probably need a proper yoga session at some point.

  12. Thanks for the shout out to the pea and squash quinoa! Was great to meet you!

  13. I want more coolhaus. And more pies.

    And wine.

  14. Oh my goodness what a fun event! You all crack me up! And I love all the pictures….and now get your FB profile pic. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Pingback: Pretzel Cookies | Kaitlin With Honey

  16. Pingback: Mark’s Birthday Party | Kaitlin With Honey

  17. Pingback: Ladyface, Take Two | Kaitlin With Honey

  18. Pingback: Pretzel Crisps Giveaway! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

