Sick Day and a Knee Update

I’m home sick today. I’d show you a picture of all of the tissues, but… gross.

Instead, I’ll show you some food. And a few gratuitous shots of my swollen leg. Hot, right? Don’t worry, I’m going to make you wait for it.

I know. I’m such a tease.

So, this morning I broke some bread out of the freezer that I’ve definitely already started on but never managed to capture on camera. Whoops.

I was send this Nature’s Pride Hearty Wheat With Flax from Foodbuzz as a part of their Tastemaker’s Program.

As a quick breakfast before my MRI this morning, I toasted a piece of this bread and topped it with Bee’s Knees peanut butter, half a banana (sliced), and a sprinkle of chocolate granola.

It was pretty great.

I will say, though, that this bread is probably better for buttered toast or, mostly, as sandwich bread. It leans more toward “savory” than “sweet.”

I bet it makes for a mean grilled cheese. Or an egg sandwich. Yum. I’ll have to try that. Or those. Probably both. You know, all in the name of research. I’m selfless like that.

Right. So… then, I went to my MRI. I may or may not have fallen asleep during it with my book on my face. No big deal. We don’t judge around here.

Anyway, the MRI showed that I don’t have a meniscus tear (yay!), but I do have warning signs of potential tears. I’m going to have to be careful about that.

What I definitely do have (no surprises here – I already knew this) is “Excessive Lateral Patellar Compression Syndrome” (I got the official name this time). Since PT hasn’t really been working for my left knee, and since the clicking, etc. has been so prominent, the doctor decided we should try a cortisone shot. After hearing about what it does and what any side effects or consequences were, I agreed.

Basically, the idea here is that we’re breaking the inflammation cycle and loosening everything up.

I was super nervous for the shot, but it wasn’t so bad. It was more of an uncomfortable pressure than actual pain.

I am, however, now sporting this bad boy:

(Gratuitous knee shot #1)

Ignore the redness. It’s from icing. See?

(Gratuitous knee shot #2). You’re welcome.

My knee is pretty stiff and sore, but the doctor told me that I’d likely feel a little pain for about 48 hours. He also said that in about 5-7 days, I should be seeing improvements. He even said that, if it works (though, no promises there), I may get to work out again — MY way, not the easy way.

Seriously, is that not the best news, ever?? That is, if it works. We’ll see. But, please, cross your fingers for me.There is nothing I want more than to return to boot camp… and possibly – possibly!!! – running. God, that would be amazing.

In the meantime, I’m also still nursing this cold. Which means I’ve been eating lots of soup/ stew and drinking lots of orange juice. See?

I actually made this stew the other day. It’s pretty good. I can’t wait to share the recipe.

Plus, I was able to work on one of my New Year’s resolutions in making it!

Anyway, other than the doctor’s appointment and the icing, I’ve basically been spending my day watching Lie To Me, a new-to-me show.

Have any of you seen it? I like it so far.

Also, can anyone get me my dark chocolate-covered almonds? They’re all the way over there.

Damn.

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

12 responses to “Sick Day and a Knee Update

  1. LOL at the end of this. Whenever Mark gets home have him wait on you. You need to be taken care of.

  2. HAHAHA i’m laughing so hard right now. That was really funny!

    Glad your knee is going in the right direction finally!! I hope all that icing/cortisone helps! Definitely crossing my fingers. Feel better!

  3. Claire

    Yay, glad to hear you could be back to your usual self. My dad has had these shots and they make a BIG difference. Just don’t over do it right away. I’m sure your doctor and PT will be all over it.

    Good luck and hope you feel better soon.

  4. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that your knee is all better soon!

  5. I am hoping hoping hoping your knee gets MUCH better and that you feel better soon. Glad you finally are getting some answers 🙂

  6. Mark

    Sorry I’m not there to make your tea for you. Whoever got you sick must be a real ASS-HOLE!

  7. One of my friends is REALLY into Lie to Me, and I’ve watched one episode with her and liked it! Hope that keeps you entertained until your knee heals!!

  8. Pingback: A Really Good Thing | Kaitlin With Honey

  9. I am sending you lots of good thoughts and love for a speedy knee repair process!!!!

  10. Pingback: She Runs LA 10K and… Life! | Kaitlin With Honey

  11. Pingback: An End in Sight | Kaitlin With Honey

  12. Pingback: Kaitlin With Rehab | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

