A Really Good Thing

I’ve been having a really weird few months, healthy living-wise. There’s been the knee, of course, and the subsequent lack of working out. There’s been a lot of feeling sorry for myself. And there’s been a lot of an all-or-nothing attitude. This, of course, has been totally stupid.

I’ve had more than one “okay, get yourself together” moment. There have been some tears. There has been a lot of frustration with myself. And yet, the cycle continued.

Then, this morning, I just woke up and knew it was going to be different. I had the same feeling I had when I had my healthy tipping point moment a couple of years ago. It wasn’t a big, broad decision. It wasn’t some crazy experience. It was just… a feeling. I just woke up feeling like being healthy again.

All of a sudden, today, I wasn’t tempted by the pastries at work and I wasn’t tempted to stop and pick lunch up somewhere when I knew that I could, instead, go home and raid my healthy fridge. This isn’t a huge change. I don’t usually have the pastries and I don’t usually stop to pick something up… it’s just that lately, I’ve been tempted a lot and haven’t really stayed true to my ideals.

But today, my healthy nature just came back to me. This used to be such an organic part of me, and I lost that recently, but I feel it coming back and I am so grateful for this.

To start, breakfast. Nothing new, that’s for sure, but still! Healthy.

Like I said, nothing new, but seriously fantastic.

Duh.

Into the mix went:

  • Chobani 0% Vanilla
  • strawberries
  • blackberries
  • chocolate granola (soooo good)
  • White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter

All mixed up:

Confession: I purposefully mix the granola and peanut butter together and don’t mix it all the way into the yogurt and then save those bites for last. It’s AMAZING.

I didn’t get to lunch until 3pm, which is why it’s even more surprising that I wasn’t tempted to pick something up, but today was so busy that I didn’t even really remember to be hungry. That never happens to me.

When I did get home, I made an epic sandwich. Seriously, it was so good. I want it again soon. Maybe tomorrow.

I had it on two pieces of Nature’s Pride Hearty Wheat With Flax (sent to me as a part of Foodbuzz‘s Tastemakers program), which I mentioned the other day. As I predicted, it served far better as sandwich bread. In fact, it was fantastic.

Between those slices of bread:

  • hummus
  • melted shredded lowfat mozzarella
  • baby romaine
  • shredded carrots
  • mini heirloom tomatoes
  • cucumber slices

I mean, right?

I followed lunch with an apple, and now, about two hours later, I’m enjoying a Kombucha.

Everything consumed today = happiness.

I recognize the old me again. I think a lot of it might be the promise of working out again, but either way — I know I am back, and it’s a good thing. A really good thing.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “A Really Good Thing

  1. I miss days like that! Some days I can bypass temptation and feel motivated to workout, but those days are coming few and far between. I don’t know what causes them, but when they come around for me, I wholeheartedly embrace them 🙂 What a great way to start the month for you!

  2. Nicola

    This has happened to me once before also and it is the best feeling. You kind of think “why the hell wasn’t I able to eat this healthy before?” Something just clicks inside of you. And you need to grasp it, because the motivation does eventually go away 😦 …………. slowly trying to get it back again!

  3. that is seriously my favorite kind of sandwich, except i’d sub out the cheese for avocado!

    i’m glad you’ve got that great mindset going on right now! 5 cheers for you!!!

  4. Yum, that sandwich combo sounds amazing! Sounds like something my stomach could handle. 🙂

    I think you have always been healthy you since your major tipping point, but I think that sometimes life just happens and we veer a little bit in our path but will always go back to what feels right. I find you to be a very healthy and inspiring person and no amount of workouts impacts that because you have such a healthy personality!

Leave a Reply

