Dawn’s Baby Shower

This past weekend, I was lucky enough to be able to attend a baby shower for my wonderful boss, Dawn.

Dawn, who already has a wonderful little girl named Naomi, is due to have a boy in the next month.

The party was adorable and perfectly themed!

Dawn and her husband Jason are huge Angels fans. Huge. I sort of considered getting them a baby Dodgers jersey as a joke, but I didn’t think it’d go over too well.

Instead, I got some cute baby boy items.

What? No, I didn’t linger in the baby aisle while shopping, or wish I had a baby of my own to be buying these things for. That would be weird.

Onto the food!

There were cupcakes, profiteroles, baseball sugar cookies, chewy molasses cookies, brownies, M&Ms, an unpictured apple pie (it looked amazing), strawberry lemonade and iced tea.

Yes, in case you didn’t notice, it was all sugar… which was unfortunate for my poor tummy and my terrible lack of planning. The party started at 2pm and I hadn’t had anything since breakfast at 8am. I was starving… so I ate a baseball cookie, a chewy molasses cookie, and a profiterole, all on an empty stomach. I paid for it with a tummyache. Whoops.

Live and learn. Not that this was a lesson any five year old couldn’t tell you.

Alright, next up… the gifts!

We all gathered ’round so we could watch Dawn open them.

Naomi helped, too.

Is she cute, or what?

She also got a few gifts of her own and entertained us by modeling them.

There was a “little brother” shirt to match.

This happened twice, actually!

Naomi also modeled a new purse she got.

I think she had a good time socializing!

There were also games. One was “guess how many sheets of toilet paper it will take to get around Dawn’s stomach.”

It took 12. I guessed 17. Whoops! Sorry, Dawn.

We also played another game, which was “guess how much each of these items cost from Walmart.”

I did miserably.

In my defense, I don’t shop at Walmart… or have babies of my own! I was at a serious disadvantage with this crowd.

Anyway, I had a great time, especially since I made some new friends!


Oh, and that baby, with the full head of hair? She’s three months old and she was born with all of that hair! Her older sister (holding her) was born the same way. How cool is that?

I ended the party hanging out with Naomi on the playground.

That’s my kind of party!

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “Dawn’s Baby Shower

  1. LOL! I always feel the biological clock when buying baby stuff for friends… its all just SO FRIGGIN CUTE! So I have to believe this is a completely normal reaction (or so I tell myself)…
    Glad you had a fun day, even with the sugar-ache!

  2. ugh I want a baby to buy clothes for. Too cute!!!

  3. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

  4. Claire

    Looks like you had a great time. It seems way more sunny than my weekend was. I was an awkwardly bald baby. Like I was bald for a LONG time like almost a year old and still nothing. My hair however is so epic it was worth waiting for.

  5. Looks like a lot of fun! Naomi is so cute!

  6. Cute! I’m throwing a baby shower this weekend, so I just got a few ideas. 🙂

  7. I LOVE shopping for baby clothes. I don’t have any friends with babies, so whenever a family member has a baby (rare!) I go crazy picking out outfits. Pretty much the only reason I want kids is to dress them in cute clothing 🙂

  8. What a cute baby shower! Naomi is adorable!!!

  9. What a fun baby shower!!!!

Leave a Reply

