Happy Birthday, Mark!

You know, two days late.

Don’t worry, we celebrated on his birthday. We celebrated quite a bit, actually. We spent most of the day together. Because, you know, it was a really important day. For me. It was all about me. Naturally.

Kidding.

So, we started off the day bright and early. You see, I had picked Mark up late the night before at the airport, so we had some catching up to do. Plus, what better way to start off a birthday than with a little light cardio and fresh air?

We had fun.

Maybe too much fun for 6:45 in the morning.

This is Mark posing as Captain Planet.

(He really was picking up trash as we walked. It was 95% awesome and 5% embarrassing.)

This is Mark “tightroping.”

There are more, but I’ll spare you.

Eventually, we walked to Starbucks.

Duh.

I couldn’t drink most of it yet, though, because coffee on an empty stomach always gives me a tummyache. I know, I know, everything gives me a tummyache.

Anyway, it was okay, because I enjoyed it with my awesomesauce breakfast.

And I do mean awesomesauce, because…. LOOK AT WHAT I FOUND AT TRADER JOE’S!

Right?!?

I was psyched. Just ask the birthday boy. Happy birthday to ME! I mean, Mark.

I drizzled the Mango Butter on top.

Ohmigodamazing.

I mixed it all up before I ate it, of course… especially since I used plain yogurt. This way, I had mango yogurt! I know. I’m a genius. It’s okay, you can say it.

Into the mix went:

  • TJ’s 0% plain Greek yogurt
  • TJ’s Mango Butter
  • strawberries
  • bananas
  • coconut butter shavings (hello, gorgeous)
  • Go Lean Crunch (not HAF! I know, I just blew your mind.)

Anyway, so the celebrations had to stop for a little while, because I had to go to work. Fortunately, though, I got out before lunch! Woohoo!

Unfortunately, Mark couldn’t stay home to eat with me. He had a singing lesson.

Mark wanted me to tell you that he doesn’t actually look like that when he sings. He was kidding around.

Like I said, that’s what Mark wanted me to tell you.

Anyway, so, I had lunch at home. On a real plate. It was glorious.

Into the mix went:

  • bed of baby greens
  • panko chicken
  • mini heirloom tomatoes
  • grated carrots
  • olives (I’m learning to like them, slowly but surely)
  • cucumbers
  • shredded lowfat cheddar
  • Newman’s Own Italian dressing

Salads are so much better when freshly made and served on a plate. Also, when the chicken is hot. YUM!

Anyway, Mark and I then spent the afternoon going to Great Harvest, hanging out at home (I had a little work to get done), and, eventually, drinking champagne.

I mean, we were celebrating. Duh.

Mark also, post-champagne, opened my card (don’t forget, his birthday present was Cavalia!).

Eventually, we walked into town to go to our favorite Thai restaurant for dinner.

I have no pictures of the food (which was great), but I do have pictures of us on our (silly) walk downtown.

We’re awesome.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MARK!

15 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

15 responses to “Happy Birthday, Mark!

  1. You two are so precious! I only met you guys once but I want to meet you agaaaaain! 🙂

  2. Happy birthday to Mark!

    I saw a picture of those fruit butters on someone’s blog a few days ago and immediately went to TJ’s to get some. I only got the honey apple, but now I really regret not getting the mango! I didn’t even think about putting it in yogurt… delicious!

  3. actorsdiet

    wha what?!? i need to get to TJ’s! it’s obviously been too long since i’ve gone grocery shopping…

    happy bday to mark!

  4. You guys are too funny. I saw that mango butter. YUM!

  5. MANGO butter? OMG. I need to search that out this weekend.

    Happy birthday Mark!

  6. Umm.. mango butter?! My inner Cuban is thinking a trip to Trader Joes needs to happen… tonight.

  7. dude, apple honey butter?!?!?!? WHAT?!?!??!

    Oh, and happy birthday mark. 🙂

  8. Awe, I think it’s awesome that you guys are BFFs. Yay friends! I’ll have to keep an eye out for that Honey Apple Butter. wow! Sounds awesome.

    Jealous of your salad too. I had one today, and I ate all the toppings off and threw out the lettuce. #fail!

  9. Nikki

    Is Mark your boyfriend?

  10. Happy Birthday Mark!

    I was hooked on the pumpkin butter a few months ago, now I must try these new fruit butters! I love TJ’s!!!

  11. never had mango butter before, but thanks for the heads up on the new TJ find. I still have some pumpkin butter from last fall, I feel like I need to finish that first before I go off and buy some new butters, lol!

    What a fun day you guys had…it shows a lot in your faces.

  12. that salad looks OUTRAGEOUSLY delicious.

    And I’m pretty sure coffee on an empty stomach makes everyone’s tummy hurt…so don’t feel bad. Sometimes, it’s worth it though!

  13. Haha, love it! What a fun birthday celebration!

    Happy belated birthday Mark! Hope it was a fantastic one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

