Things I Learned While Spring Cleaning

I spent the majority of last weekend cleaning out my apartment. And, while that includes the requisite scrubbing, dusting, vacuuming (I’m lying – I totally didn’t vacuum), etc., what I really mean is that I cleared out all of my closets, cabinets, and drawers.

Now, let’s be clear about something. My apartment is not that big. And, outside of college, I’ve only been living on my own for about four years now. I even moved once, which gave me a big opportunity to get rid of stuff. So… how in the world did I accumulate this much junk in my closets, cabinets, and drawers?

This leads me to the first thing I learned about myself while spring cleaning.

1. I am a hoarder.

That box is about knee-high and it’s full of samples I’ve been sent and bars I’ve purchased. For some reason, I tend to “save” those because they’re special and because once I use them, they’ll be gone. So, you know, now I have this.

2. I go through phases.

I used to wear earrings every day. In fact, I used to consider them “my thing.” I now can’t remember the last time I wore earrings on two consecutive days. Or even, really, for one full day.

3. I am a little too organized/ categorical.

Case in point… My pantry:

1st shelf: breakfast items

2nd shelf: snacks

3rd shelf: canned goods and other non-breakfast items (and some spillover from the 4th shelf…)

4th shelf: baking goods

Oh, and case in point #2:

From left to right…

On shelf: solid sleeveless tops, patterned sleeveless tops, solid tees, patterned tees, long sleeved shirts, patterned cardigans, solid cardigans, sweaters, sweatshirts, jackets

On hangers: skirts, nice pants, jeans, [room to hang clothes to dry], cardigans, long sleeved shirts, sweaters, long shirts to wear over leggings, short sleeved shirts, sleeveless shirts, dresses

Good Lord.

4. I am a creature of habit.

I wear those three pieces of jewelry nearly every single day. I have since I got them (all gifts from my parents – thanks, Mom and Dad!).

But these aren’t the first. I went through that phase with these, too.

And now they’ve been banished to the earring drawer you saw above.

But really, most of all…

5. I need to stop hoarding things.

These gift cards?

I don’t even want to tell you how long I’ve had some of them. Again, I’ve just been “saving” them. I’ve been to nearly all of those places since getting the cards but haven’t used them. Seriously, I’m absurd. And I already found out that one of them has (had) $100 on it that has now expired. I nearly had a panic attack when I found out.

(Sorry, Mom and Dad.)

I think I just threw all my neuroses out into the blogosphere. Awesome.

What would you learn about yourself if you did some spring cleaning?

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

13 responses to “Things I Learned While Spring Cleaning

  1. Are you sure it expired?? I thought gift cards don’t expire in Cali anymore!

  2. Check the gift card again, They are not suppose to expire for 5 years, no matter what the date says. I found one from 4 years ago and swore it was not good. When I got to the resturant, dinner was paid.

  3. Erin

    I’m pretty sure Becki is right about gift cards not expiring in CA. They can charge you a monthly fee after a certain date, however, which can eat up the balance. *fingers crossed* for you that it’s still valid!

  4. um, i can relate to this 123%

  5. I’m a total food hoarder…which explains why I had to toss an entire container of strawberries over the weekend because when I bought them I didn’t want to eat them right away 😦

  6. I hoard giftcards too. and then I go all crazy and use them all up at once. Pretty jewelry!

  7. I’m a hoarder too. Our apartment is scary.

  8. I do the same thing with samples or little things I get. I don’t want to eat it because it will be gone, but then I sit around letting it get old and expired. I’ve been trying to do a little better with that.
    I hope your gift card didn’t expire!!!

  9. um, i’ll gladly spend those for you. send them this way please. 😉

  10. M. Elizabeth

    If you don’t want your giftcards, you can sell them for cash at http://www.cardpool.com

  11. Haha, love this post! I love cleaning because you do come across so many wonderful things.

  12. Pingback: Coffee Shop Hopping | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

