Pop-Up Beer Garden

On Saturday, Amanda, Andy, Katherine and I attended a pop-up beer garden held by ColLAboration (clever, eh?), which is an LA-based craft beer organization made up of four big names in the LA Craft Beer scene: Ryan Sweeney of Verdugo Bar & The Surly Goat, Brian Lenzo of Blue Palms Brewhouse, Clay Harding of 38° Ale House & Grill, and Tony Yanow of Tony’s Darts Away & Mohawk Bend.

Ridiculously, I’ve only been to Tony’s Darts Away of all of those bars listed above. Clearly, I have some barhopping to do.

Anyway, this was the first of, apparently, many events that they’ll be holding. Count me down as going to every single one of them.

So, when you walk in, you first get a glass. And this is no itty bitty tasting glass, it’s a full-sized pint.

My kind of event. You get to keep it, too, and then bring it to other events. The $10 fee covers entry and the glass. Very eco-friendly. I like that. It also makes me feel like a part of a cool kids club. I like that even more.

Next, you buy some tokens. They were $6/ each or 4 for $20. Either way, it’s not a bad deal. Each token buys a beer.

The paparazzi Katherine caught me taking that photo.

Katherine and I got there before Andy and Amanda did, which was a little scary because Katherine and I consider Andy and Amanda to be the beer pros in our group. Naturally, we wanted their advice as to which beers to choose. Fortunately, however, we managed to find Russian River Brewing Company’s Pliny the Elder, which is a beer we’ve seen and heard about many a time on Two Boos Who Eat.

Especially given that it was a rare beer (which we knew from their blog), I knew I needed to try it.

Katherine got one, too.

Cheers!

It was incredibly hoppy, which isn’t usually my style, but it’s still something I’m glad I tried.  I figure that if I’m going to become a beer connoisseur, I need to have tried a beer that is highly critically acclaimed.

Soon after Katherine and I were situated with our beers, the Two Booze Boos showed up.

Thank goodness. They were sorely needed for their expertise. Also just because they’re awesome.

We started out taking some pictures…

(Picture courtesy of Amanda)

(Picture courtesy of Amanda)

(Picture courtesy of Katherine)

… and then, naturally, it was time for some beersploration. It’s a word. I just made it up.

This was the worst the lines ever got, and it took all of three minutes, if that. Seriously, they had a good system going.

Basically, there were three stations, all of which rotated their beers throughout the day.

I spent the most time at this one:

The second beer I tried was the Stone Brewing Company’s Lukcy Basartd (not a misspelling).

(Though they spelled it incorrectly correct on the board).

It was amazing. Kind of tasted like caramel.

At first, Amanda and I were feeling super cheated about our pour sizes. Were we not pretty enough, or something? And then, ever-patient Andy explained that we were ordering beers with higher alcohol content and therefore, got smaller pours. Makes a lot of sense when you actually think about it. Amanda and I are silly.

Also, Andy totally double-fisted.

Just kidding, he was holding mine. Gosh, I’m funny.

This, by the way, was my set-up when somebody wasn’t holding my glass and when I wasn’t drinking out of it.

Camera bags. For more than just cameras.

Soon, we were all starving and needed to dig into some food. Thankfully, we hunted down the sausage men. Yes, that’s what we called them. Insert roughly one thousand jokes about men and their sausages and bloggers eating sausages here. If you can think of a joke, we probably made it. We are tasteless. Or awesome. You choose.

(Choose awesome.)

I got the pork (I think we all did, actually), which automatically came with mustard and sauerkraut.

If I’m being honest, it wasn’t my thing.

That’s not to say I didn’t devour it, though. We all did.

If I were a better friend, I wouldn’t have posted those pictures.

Oh well.

Here are some (somewhat) redeeming ones.

Aww, true love.

I ended my beer run with my favorite of the day, Bear Republic Brewing Company’s Double Red Rocket.

It was unreal.

I wanted to drink it forever. But that probably would have given me quite the hangover, so I stuck with one.

Anyway, we ended the event with, perhaps, the best photo ever taken. Here we are with all four of the guys who put this event on.

I know, right??? I am sort of in love with that photo.

If you are in the LA area, I highly suggest you check out one of ColLAboration‘s future events. I’ll be at as many as I can, so let me know if you go and we’ll say hi to each other!

19 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

19 responses to “Pop-Up Beer Garden

  1. So fun! Great pictures!

  2. Claire

    So how do you find out about this stuff? Though secret food blogger ways? You should pass on the beer invites to your good buddy Claire. I’ve been looking for an awesome craft beer place forever. Mike being from the Pacific North West finds the SoCal beer scene a little lacking. If you want company at any of those bars, give me a call. xoxo

    • I usually find out from other bloggers! For instance, I found out about this from Amanda. But yes, we should definitely check out some of these new bars together! See you tonight. 🙂 (Hopefully)

  3. Can I come bar-hopping with you? Thanks!

    The two booze? LOL!!!! LOVE IT! I am also dying at the sausage eating photos. Too good.

  4. OMG! That looks incredibly fun! I’m sooo jealous right now! The weather, beer, food and company all looks amazing:)

  5. actorsdiet

    i’m so glad you went – i meant to go!

  6. oh my goodness these are some fantastic pics.

  7. We should hit up all these bars immediately. Or hang out without alcohol. Either way.

    So much fun.

  8. Ok, I have two massive conflicting feelings over this post. One, I am so excited and happy to see you all enjoying such fun, unique events in LA. Two, I am super super super jealous to not be able to partake in the fun. Real truth of the matter, I just miss you all a lot!

  9. Pingback: Mark’s Birthday Party | Kaitlin With Honey

  10. Great post! I have one up on my site beersinparadise.com as well but you had more pictures so I had to be nosy and check them all out. Keep up the good work and hopefully I’ll see you at the next ColLAboration event.
    Cheers!
    Jason

  11. Pingback: Ladyface, Take Two | Kaitlin With Honey

  12. Pingback: She Runs LA After-Party | Kaitlin With Honey

  13. Pingback: Three Days of Not Not Drinking | Kaitlin With Honey

  14. Pingback: My Weekend, in Pictures | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

