The Real Slim Shady

Guess who’s back?

Back again?

SIAB’s back!

Tell a friend.

(Yes, I just did that. Don’t worry about it.)

I haven’t had a smoothie in… forever. I’m pretty sure the last one I had was in January. Truth be told, I just haven’t really been in the mood, and it’s mostly been because I’ve been feeling kind of sorry for myself.

Yes, I know that sounds a little weird.

Allow me to explain. You see, SIABs, really, became my favorite post-running breakfast over the summer. They were kind of perfect for that, as they packed a lot of nutritional punch, allowed me to get both protein and carbohydrates in quickly, and cooled me down after a sweaty few miles.

I liked them after tough workouts, too. Or just on hot days that really seemed to call for a cool-down. But lately, it hasn’t been that warm (in the morning, anyway), and we all know that I not only haven’t been running, but basically took about two months off from really working out.

I’m back to that (sort of — I’ll get to that in another post), though, and today… Well, today, I felt like a smoothie.

And it was glorious.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 3 strawberries, sliced
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat plain Greek yogurt

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs coconut butter, warmed
  • Go Lean Crunch!

It was like reuniting with an old friend. It was like putting on my favorite pair of jeans, which fit just right even though I hadn’t worn them in months. It was like going home.

Am I being dramatic? Absolutely.

But… let’s be honest. I think you come here for it. πŸ˜‰

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “The Real Slim Shady

  1. You just set up an entire post around Eminem lyrics? This is why we’re friends. I’m also convinced I need smoothie in a bowl. I need to be less of a breakfast lazy pants and just lady up and do it.

  2. haha, drama queen.

    glad you got the smoothie back in your life, and i can’t wiat to hear about what led to it!

  3. Yum, I had a smoothie in a bowl for lunch today! My poor Magic Bullet quivers when I come near it. It doesn’t like to blend my smoothies properly :/

  4. yummmm looks delish! love this post πŸ˜‰ haha

  5. I feel confused reading a post and not seeing a yogurt bowl creation. I mean I enjoy the SIAB return, but feel so unsure of life without the yogurt bowl. πŸ˜‰

    I love smoothies! Looks very very tasty!

Leave a Reply

