The Comeback Kid

I got my butt kicked at boot camp yesterday morning.

I know, right? You weren’t expecting that!

It may be a bit premature to refer to my return to the gym as my “comeback” since I’m definitely still dealing with an injury here, but… whatever. I’m back. I’m calling it. Even if it’s – potentially – just “for now.”

For a few weeks, I’ve been back (albeit lightly) at the gym. At first, I was just doing a little elliptical here and there.

Then, one day, I ventured – for the first time, ever (I was totally intimidated) – into the free weights room.

(source – that’s not my gym)

After just one great session in there, I asked myself why I’d been such a baby about my injury. What was stopping me from going in there on a regular basis to do arm & ab work? That wouldn’t have affected my knee at all. Seriously, what was stopping me?

I’m a real idiot sometimes.

As I’ve been easing back into working out, I’ve also been adding more things to it other than just strength training. I’ve started doing my fair share of yoga —  which is hard, yo! (Ten bucks says Mark comments saying, “Told ya so!”)

Two Saturdays ago, I went to my gym and came across my favorite boot camp instructor. After we caught up while I did some light ellipticalling (it’s totally a word) he asked, “How much time do you have?”

And then he worked me out. Hard.

Afterward, he told me that whenever I saw him doing floor hours, I could ask him to show me more.

It just so happens that I see him doing floor hours every Saturday morning (he and I both knew this) and he just so happens to be my hero right now because he is working me out around my knee issues and making me feel like myself again.

It’s amazing. Honestly, it makes me believe in the kindness of others that much more.

The only problem (not his fault, but mine) was that, the first time he worked me out, I hadn’t exactly known it was going to happen. So, I’d already done an hour on the elliptical and a half hour of strength training on my own. And then I did 45-ish minutes with him.

Remember how I got sick after not eating before doing 2-hour spin with Monica?

Welp, at the end of that first workout with the trainer, I got totally dizzy and nauseous. And then, as I carefully made my way to the water fountain to get some water, I started getting some serious tunnel vision. I made it to the water fountain just in time, filled it, and fell to the ground to sit for a few minutes. Thankfully, I recovered quickly enough. It was nowhere near as bad as the spinning incident.

Lactic acid buildup is not my friend.

The good news, however, is that I’m now totally aware that this can be a problem for me if I work out for more than an hour and a half. You have to make mistakes to learn lessons, right? So, this past Saturday, I went prepared.

I was a girl scout, after all.

Thank goodness I ate that pre-workout, as I followed my own hour stint on the elliptical with two hours with the trainer. Two amazing hours.

And then I came back and ate this faster than you can say “banana and peanut butter.” I’m not even sure I’m exaggerating.

Oh, and as I hinted at the beginning of this post, I also returned to boot camp class last week and I went yesterday morning, as well. Don’t worry, I’m 100% substituting every bounce/ jump/ run/ squat/ lunge/ you-name-the-knee-irritating-move. It’s working out.

And I’m working out. Hey-o!

When you have an injury, how do you deal with it?

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “The Comeback Kid

  1. Damn girl, a 3 hour work out?! You crazy. :p

  2. Damn, girl! Those workouts sound intense! I would indeed say that is a triumphant return. Yay for your knee feeling better!

  3. Good for you! So happy about your reunion with the gym because I know how much you love working out!

    Let me know whenever your schedule settles a bit and we will get a lift date on the calendar! 🙂

  4. Get it girl! (the boot camp instructor) assuming he is hot.

  5. Don’t call it a comeback (you’ve been here for years). Sorry. I had to.

    But yay for the come back and yay for getting your boo-tay kicked by yoga. I did early today too!

Leave a Reply

