Easter Biscuit Baskets

One of the first things we did upon my arrival to my second-home state of Texas was to embark on a family tradition: making Easter Biscuit Baskets.

Now, I’m very sorry, but I have been strictly forbidden from sharing the recipe with you. It’s a family recipe that has been passed down from generation to generation and I’m pretty sure all of the women in my family would never speak to me again if I posted it on here.

I’m kidding… I think. Still, I’m sorry I won’t be able to share it with you.

I can, however, share the pictures of the process!

You start with dyed eggs.

And then you use lots and lots of butter.

And other things.

All hands were on deck.

Literally.

Classically, they’re made as baskets, like this:

Or as cookies, like this:

But, you know, we were working with kids, here. πŸ™‚

Here are some out of the oven:

Ahh, happiness.

(Disclaimer: They’re usually much prettier than that. I’d blame it on the kids, but that one was totally made by me. In my defense, the recipe my aunt and grandmother used yesterday is different from the one I’m used to, adapted by my mom.)

Happy Easter! What are you doing to celebrate today?

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “Easter Biscuit Baskets

  1. How fun! My friend and her son made something similar to this last night. Only they call them easter egg wreathes or something.

    Andy and I are celebrating with mimosas. YAY

  2. What a fun idea! I’ve never even thought of doing something like that. I love it.

  3. So cute! To celebrate Easter, I ate a ton… unfortunately nothing as delicious as those cookies!

  4. Wow super cute idea! I’ve never heard of these. I love how the kids all had so much fun getting involved too. πŸ™‚

  5. How creative and fun! I always love holiday recipes that call for family time together in the kitchen. πŸ™‚

  6. How fun!!! I love it πŸ™‚

  7. haha, you guys like me with my grandmother’s applesauce recipe. even though she’s gone, i’m sure she’d turn over in her grave if i spilled her secret. even my mom doesn’t know! only moi! πŸ™‚ haha!

    hope you had a good holiday! mine was nice, got to see some family that i hadnt’ seen in almost two years and see an old college friend!

  8. Pingback: Yogurt in Texas | Kaitlin With Honey

  9. woah super cool! I love the pretty dyed eggs and my wheels are currently spinning trying to figure out how you cooked the eggs in the oven? Interesting…..

Leave a Reply

