A New Challenge

So, in the past week, I’ve had at least three different people mention to me that they’ve tried (and loved, duh) “my” yogurt bowls. I love this. I take it as a huge compliment. Plus, it makes me feel like I’m making some tiny different in other peoples’ lives. (Oh, let me have it.)

However, it also kind of tells me something I think we all already knew: I clearly have a favorite meal (breakfast, of course), and I clearly choose to post about said favorite meal more than I post about any other meal.

So, I’m giving myself a little KWH challenge: for the next two weeks, I’m not allowed to post about breakfast. I may only post about lunches, snacks, and dinners (and, you know, life). I figure you could use a little variety, right?

Fair warning, though… part of the reason I post more often about breakfasts than any other meal is because my breakfasts are so much prettier than any other meals.

Case in point:

I tried to make a chicken salad last night. I say “tried’ because I definitely failed. I’m not very excited about eating it.

However, I’m also cheap careful with money, which means I can’t really bear to throw away food. Thus, I still used it in my lunch today.

On a small bed of lettuce, I put a big scoop of the salad. I have some Annie’s Tuscany Italian dressing on the side, should I need to mask the taste a little bit (I haven’t had lunch yet. Here’s hoping I want it.)

It’s not that the salad is awful, it’s just that I’m not really looking forward to it. And food should be something you look forward to, you know what I mean?

I am, however, determined to master the art of healthy chicken salad. I’m on the right path — honestly, I think I just used the wrong chicken. I got TJ’s caesar chicken, and I don’t like caesar anything (it was all they had!). I tried to work around that, rather than make the kind of salad I wanted to make, and it just kind of spelled “disaster.”

But, in case you’re curious, the salad included nonfat Greek yogurt, caesar chicken, broccoli slaw, salt, pepper and mini heirloom tomatoes. Oh, and baby spinach and that Italian dressing.

In other news, yesterday was… interesting!

Mark has had a crazy fever of around 102 (at times slightly lower and at times even higher!) for a few days now, and I finally convinced him that he needed to go to the doctor yesterday. First, we went to one Urgent Care center that advertised being open yesterday but was, unfortunately, not when we got there. So, we found another one that kept us there for about an hour and a half and then told us that they had no idea what was wrong with him (at this point, Mark decided he was probably turning into either a werewolf or a superhero).We were then told that Mark needed to go to the ER.

Five hours later, the doctor in the ER finally saw us and basically told Mark to take some Tylenol and get some rest. If he does have what they only vaguely suspect, they said there’s nothing they can do about it, anyway.

Gee, thanks.

It was a long day, but Mark and I entertained ourselves by playing “car” games, including Twenty Questions, the Alphabet Game (interesting in a hospital!) and MFK (if you don’t know, don’t ask).

We couldn’t think of any others! What are some of your favorite car games?

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

12 responses to “A New Challenge

  1. Hope Mark is feeling better!! That lunch actually looks pretty good! I’ll have to try that!

  2. I’ve made chicken salad with non-fat Greek yogurt, red onions, dried cranberries and golden raisins, sauteed chopped spinach, and some curry powder. It’s pretty good! Sliced grapes work well, too.

  3. Yikes, I hope Mark feels better! I’m running a fever too- I hope I’m turning into a superhero 🙂

  4. sounds like a great challenge! i hope mark is feeling better now!!!

  5. You’ll rock this challenge because you are awesome. Unless you decide to have yogurt bowls for breakfast AND lunch! ha

  6. My favorite car game for long rides is being quiet and reading while someone else drives. haahhah. Or sleeping. Even better. Looking forward to seeing some of your lunch and dinner posts!

  7. Pingback: An End in Sight | Kaitlin With Honey

  8. Oh poor Mark – he is lucky to have such a great roommate to keep him company during the stressful experience of time spent in the ER.

    I am going to miss your yogurt bowls, no lie. 🙂

  9. Pingback: “Budget” Healthy Lunches From My Fridge | Kaitlin With Honey

  10. Pingback: Snack Time | Kaitlin With Honey

  11. Pingback: Yoga and Yogurt Bowls | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

