“Budget” Healthy Lunches From My Fridge

I read something in a magazine recently about how a lot of people think it’s too expensive to eat healthy without it getting boring. I’m sorry, but that’s ridiculous. In the last week or so, I made three very different lunches out of the same set of vegetable ingredients. All were healthy, all were different, and all were delicious.

Oh, and my grocery bill basically never goes above $60/ week (unless I’m restocking something like protein powder or coconut butter) and can be as low as $30/ week.

These are the vegetables I had in my fridge:

  • zucchini
  • mini tomatoes
  • baby greens salad mix
  • red peppers
  • baby spinach
  • baby carrots (I actually never used these in a meal below, but I ate them often for snack)

Lunch #1: Italian Salad

Into the mix went:

  • baby greens
  • mini tomatoes
  • diced red pepper
  • kidney beans (1 serving)
  • parmesan & asiago
  • Annie’s Tuscany Italian dressing

It was so fresh. I had it twice last week!

Meal #2: Fresh Vegetable Scramble

This was a weekend lunch.

Into the mix went:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • grated parmesan & romano
  • (ketchup on the side)

It’s probably no surprise to you that this ended up as one of my options.

Meal #3: Thai Yellow Curry Stir-Fry


It’s also probably no surprise to you that I found an excuse to use my TJ’s Yellow Curry sauce.

I actually made this as a dinner first, and then brought leftovers to work for lunch.

Into the mix (for 2 meals) went:

  • 2 zucchini, sliced
  • red pepper
  • baby spinach
  • kidney beans (about 1 1/2 servings)
  • EVOO
  • TJ’s Yellow Curry Sauce

All just sauteed for a few minutes!

I think these meals are a good example of how you don’t have to spend a ton of money at the supermarket getting a bunch of different stuff — you can just re-purpose the same foods into totally different meals!

In other news, I made the best smoothie (well, tied with my Cake Batter Smoothie) this morning, but I can’t share it with you yet due to my no breakfast (blogging, not eating) challenge!

So, I’m just going to tease you. It was a Snickerdoodle Smoothie. Yes, a Snickerdoodle Smoothie. You’re just going to have to wait ’til next week for the recipe!

Oh, and just a couple more days left to enter my Pretzel Crisps Giveaway

How many vegetables do you usually buy at one time? I try to stick with 3-5.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to ““Budget” Healthy Lunches From My Fridge

  1. I try and buy between 3-5 veggies, too. I don’t like buying too many at once because it stresses me out thinkig that I need to use them all before they go bad.

  2. That curry stir fry looks AMAZING.

  3. Another smoothie recipe?! I can hardly wait! You are the smoothie master… I think it’s obvious how much I make your cake batter smoothie, haha!

  4. We get a CSA produce box with 5-8 veggies, 1-2 fruits and we buy berries from Costco. YUM! Totally not expensive at all. However, buying meat adds up a lot for us.

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more. I love getting creative to use up all my veggies. In fact, I just turned some odds and ends into a flatbread pizza!

    I buy 6-7 depending on my menu plan for the week!

  6. awesome lunches! i love all the combos!

Leave a Reply

