Vegetarian Nicoise Salad

So, the other day, Mark started craving his friend Annie’s Nicoise Salad. He asked her for the recipe and she sent it over, and when I came home from the wine tasting on Sunday night, I was greeted with my wonderful roommate asking if I was interested in having any.


Salad? Sure! Plus, who passes up a free homemade dinner? So, you know, I was in, but I didn’t really think beyond that.


But lemme tell ya something. This salad was the bomb. Seriously, I could not handle how good it was. So, thank you, Mark’s-friend-Annie-whom-I-have-never-met, for introducing this salad into Mark’s life, and then into my life, and now, ultimately, into your lives. And maybe your friends’ and family’s lives. You never know. Annie just became blog-famous.

Annie’s (Vegetarian) Nicoise Salad

makes about 4 servings

Salad Ingredients

  • lettuce (we used about 1 1/2 bags of baby greens)
  • 3-4 eggs
  • ~ 2-3 cups French green beans, washed & trimmed
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • baby potatoes (any kind)
  • (Annie also uses seared tuna, but we didn’t — just thought I’d let you know)

Dressing Ingredients

  • 1/3 c rice vinegar
  •  Juice of ½  – 1 lemon
  • 2 tbs spicy mustard
  • 1-3 minced garlic (to your taste)
  • 1-2 tbs minced shallot
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup EVOO  (you be the judge — use just enough to balance the acidity of the lemon)

Directions

If you wash your lettuce, let it dry completely.

Hard-boil your eggs, then immediately put them in a bowl with ice water for a few minutes to remove the sulfur (the grey stuff around the yolk).

Boil the green beans for about 30 seconds — you want them to be crunchy.

Boil the potatoes until soft enough for eating.

Cut/ slice up the hard-boiled eggs, potatoes and avocado.

In a cup, whisk all dressing ingredients other than olive oil together. Once evenly mixed, slowly add your EVOO until you think it looks balanced and not too oily.

Toss all salad ingredients with the dressing, then add kosher salt and fresh pepper.

So good, I even brought it for lunch. Twice.

Yes, for those of you good at math or with keen attention to detail, Mark ended up only having one serving of his own salad. You see, when Mark decided to fulfill his craving, he kind of forgot he was going away for the next two days.

Good news for me! 😉

The Pretzel Crisps giveaway ends tomorrow…

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Vegetarian Nicoise Salad

  1. avocado, green beans and potatoes in one salad? Whoaaaaa I neeeed that in my life. I love all 3 of those ingredients! Too bad I can’t hang with hard-boiled eggs! I wish I liked them.

Leave a Reply

