Playing

This is totally overdue, but I’m finally posting my last post about my most recent trip to Texas a few weeks ago. I had too much else to talk about, otherwise!

Anyway. Here you go.

One of my favorite things about going to Texas — and I’m sure this comes as no surprise to any of you — is that I get to hang out with the world’s coolest kids, also known as my cousins.

This is a pretty simple post. In essence, we played games and I took pictures. Welcome to my obsession with my cousins.

First, there was Hide & Seek. To start off, William counted….

And the rest of us hid.

Grace:

Matthew:

Amelia:

Juliana:

And then we played about ten more rounds.

Though some were as creative as they could be in the limited backyard circumstances…

Others of us (namely Matthew and myself) got just a little bit lazy.

Here was my favorite hiding spot:

I was found pretty quickly. 😉

Eventually, we just hung around and chatted. This was the best part.

Couldn’t let them get too comfortable, though. I had them do push-ups.

I kid! They were showing off. It was fantastic.

They also all tried to copy Matthew’s under-the-pillow hiding spot from earlier. Some were successful…

… And some were not. 😉

You win some, you lose some.

But I, of course, was clearly #winning. Duh.

Another form of playing? A lemonade stand.

Naturally, it needed a sign.

This was really Juliana’s baby…

…but it did gather a crowd.

Mostly of us… and a bee. 🙂

I couldn’t drink mine. Pure sugar.

Let’s see… there was also the epic Lego “kitchen” that Juliana and I built.

Complete with a pizza oven on fire, street lamps, a basketball hoop, and a camel.

No big deal.

And then, there was Apples to Apples. Soooo much Apples to Apples. The kid’s version, of course.

There were a range of emotions.

There was, of course, the joy of playing a game…

A bit of showing off…

And, of course, a little pouting.

What’s a game without a little pouting?

I would also like to show you two different rounds of my “winning” cards, which gave me two very different sets of cards. The first, where I won, included these:

I felt pretty good about that. I told myself they were telling me things they thought of me.

And then, in round two, I got these:

Hmm…

I no longer wanted to think that’s what they were trying to do.

I’ll leave you with two of my favorite pictures of the trip, of the twins. I just love the lighting.

Aren’t they beautiful?

Oh, I miss those kids so much.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Playing

  1. Kids are so cute! I Loooove Apples to Apples. Next blogger meet up, we’ll play it. 😛 YAY!

  2. One of my favorite past times is playing hide and seek with my little sister and friends! How fun!
    I also love the game Apples to Apples!

  3. My daughter loves playing Apples to Apples. It’s one of her favorite games.

Leave a Reply

