Snickerdoodle Smoothie

You may remember that I teased you with this Snickerdoodle Smoothie last week, when I wasn’t allowed (by my own rules, of course) to post about my breakfasts.

Well, that challenge is up, and it’s time to share.

Snickerdoodle Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1 1/2 whey protein powder (no flavoring — from the bulk bins)
  • ~10 shakes cinnamon (probably about 1 1/2 tsp? I don’t mess around.)

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs coconut butter, melted
  • small handful nut granola

Don’t be fooled by the green color. It seriously tastes like a snickerdoodle.

Plus, how good does it feel to start your day knowing you’ve already had a serving of greens?

I love that.

I think smoothies always taste best after a tough workout, and today was no exception. Boot camp kicked my booty this morning!

You may have noticed that I didn’t have my regular SIAB, or smoothie-in-a-bowl. No, my new job starts earlier and has made my mornings so rushed that I rarely have time to actually eat my breakfast at home anymore. So this was a smoothie-to-go. A STG? Hmm… just don’t have the same ring to it.

In other news, I am very excited for the weekend. My Friday night and entire Saturday are both packed to the max (I think I just wanted to say “to the max” there) with lots of fun stuff. Tonight I am going out to dinner and have two different parties to attend. Tomorrow I am working out with my trainer (hopefully), going to a blogger picnic, baking up a storm, and then going to see a scary movie in a cemetery at night (I know, right?).

I had two plans on Sunday, both of which fell through. As much as I was looking forward to each of them, I think it might be a blessing in disguise. I am now keeping my Sunday entirely free of plans.

I just need a day, you know what I mean?

What are you all doing for the weekend?

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Snickerdoodle Smoothie

  1. Erin

    You’re going to see The Shining, aren’t you? 🙂 I wish I lived closer to LA, I used to love going there with friends. Enjoy your restful Sunday.. it definitely sounds like a blessing in disguise that your plans were cancelled!

  2. so sad i’m missing the blogger picnic this weekend….but i’ll see you all soon. 🙂 i hope. it’s been a long week. 🙂 otherwise, sleep and catchin up on well, life.

  3. The movie in the grave yard sound awesome! This weekend for me is all about relaxing and catching up on some errands and rest 🙂

  4. Did you see The Shining at the Hollywood Forever cemetery? I was supposed to go with some friends but I was out of town!

    I can’t wait to make this smoothie- if it’s half as good as your cake batter smoothie I know I will love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

