The Rest of My Weekend

What does it feel like to have free time? I’m starting to forget.

So. The rest of my weekend.

Friday night needed to end early because I had an early morning on Saturday, but I was happy to have been able to sneak in my friend Alicia’s birthday dinner.

That’s Alicia, on the right. Happy birthday, Alicia!

We went to The Federal in North Hollywood, which is new. It’s… interesting. The downstairs is totally up my alley — a gastropub with good beer on tap and good food to munch on. Plus, it’s not ridiculously overpriced. The upstairs, however, is weirdly a club? I wasn’t so down with that. Especially since they turned some of my friends away for their attire (No nice hoodies or hats? I’m sorry, that’s so pretentious.).

Anyway, like I said, the food and beer were both good. My drink of choice for the evening was Napa Smith, a Czech Pilsner.

Big fan.

My friends Rachel and Bret kept it classy with some martinis.

How very Mad Men. (I think. Right? I don’t watch it.)

I got a turkey burger, which came with garlic fries.

It was great, but I ate some and passed the rest off to a friend that had arrived late and hadn’t ordered dinner. I fed a friend and ensured that I wouldn’t overdo it. Sharing is caring, right?

It was so much fun to catch up with these friends, many of whom I hadn’t seen in far too long.

Remember how I said I had an early morning on Saturday? Well, I knew it’d be early… but I did not know how much it would kick my ass.

No, not because of the beer. It was because, upon telling my trainer that I’m thinking about quitting the gym for a few months (I’m not stopping working out! No, far from it — but this is for another post), he decided to try to convince me not to. And his way of convincing me not to was to work me harder than, honestly, I had ever worked before.

I told my friends later that I felt like I had been on an episode of The Biggest Loser. I had sweat pouring out of me. I was shaking my way through multiple minutes of planks with my feet on the bench and my hands on the floor. I learned that I’ve been cheating on pushups forever, apparently, because my trainer wouldn’t let me do any less than having my chest TOUCH THE GROUND every time.

I cannot even begin to tell you how sore I was on Sunday. I felt like someone had ripped up my abs, shoulders, and chest.

Anyway, after that ass-kicking, it was time for the blogger picnic. You’re all caught up there.

That afternoon, the lovely Amanda came over to hang out with me while I attempted a baking experiment. I tried making black bean brownies.

I used the words “attempted,” “experiment” and “tried” because I really do not consider them successful. They were okay, and they taste much better refrigerated than hot out of the oven or at room temperature, but… I don’t know. They just taste fat-free to me. And, you know, if I’m going to indulge in a brownie, I’d rather it be a good one. Otherwise, I just don’t think I need the brownie at all, you know what I mean?

Anyway, the reason I was baking was because — yes, a few of you guessed it right! — I was going to Cinespia that night.

Basically, Cinespia is a summer series in which movies are held, drive-in-style, in the Hollywood Forever Cemetary. Creepy, right? Even creepier when you know what movie I was seeing…

(source)

You can bring picnics and can even bring alcohol, which is super cool.

Check out the spread our friend Brendan brought!

He totally showed the rest of us up. He especially showed my lame brownies up.

My plate (except multiply the orzo salad by three):

I also basically managed to polish off an entire bottle of red wine by myself. Lush.

No, Mom, I wasn’t driving.

Anyway, Cinespia is also really cool because the hour and a half before the movie starts is just time to hang out while picnicking, drinking and listening to the DJ they have. Pretty fun, right?

Mark and I entertained ourselves by awkwardly dancing like middle schoolers.

Obviously, everyone there wished they were hanging out with us. Obviously.

Don’t worry, we looked normal most of the time.


That’s Mark and his adorable friend Sarah, who stayed with us most of last week. I loved having her! Sarah, you are welcome any time!

And that’s Brendan, Chris, me (gosh, I hope you know that by now) and Rachel.

Hooray! It was a totally fun night and I will definitely be returning to future Cinespia screenings. When I got home, though, I was positively pooped. I didn’t set my alarm because Sunday was to be my lazy day, but didn’t expect to sleep past 8. I never do, even when I try.

But the sleeping gods smiled upon me and I slept until 9:30 on Sunday. NINE-THIRTY! It was glorious.

My Sunday, however, wasn’t quite as lazy as I had hoped it would be. I ended up feeling obligated to get some of the things on my to do list done, since I never have time to do them. The good news is that I crossed a bunch of errands off the list. The bad news is that I kind of missed out on the lazy day I so sorely needed.

I also spent a lot of time making three batches of granola bars!

I wish you knew how big this bowl was in real life so you could get a real sense of how much dough there was.

The result: this…

Times three. The final batch was baked last night!

One of them was a disaster (thank goodness one of the batches was meant for Mark and me anyway), one of them was for Tina’s Bake Sale winner and was shipped out yesterday morning (thanks, Mark!), and one was for my friend Parvin (shipped out this morning… thanks again, Mark!)!

I’ll tell you why I needed to send Parvin granola bars in just a few days. Hint: they were a thank-you gift for the same reason I’m quitting the gym for a little while.

Any guesses?

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “The Rest of My Weekend

  1. actorsdiet

    i can’t wait to go to cinespia this summer but there was NO WAY IN HELL i would go see the shining there! NIGHTMARES!

  2. I see my face in your photos!!! (ps – what is going on w/Collin’s face??) totally agreed w/your comments on the Federal – North Hollywood bars should NOT be allowed to have dress codes or have lines. But the bouncers were also total pushovers, you could totes skip the line by just walking by. Also, what was the deal with keeping the lights on (super bright, too) in the “dance club”?

  3. hey, what happened to mine!?!?! i kid.

  4. Ah! I’ve always wanted to do Hollywood Forever! Love it and looks like so much fun!

  5. I’m going to add cinespia to our to do list this summer, but I’m hoping to go to an oldie but goodie movie. gotta look it up.

    I want some granola 🙂 I think you should bring some on our next blogger meet-up.

  6. Pingback: I’m Boring | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

