Memorial Day

Man, did I go MIA, or what? I took the holiday weekend off from blogging, then today was so busy that I just didn’t have a free second. I can’t believe I’m posting after 9pm.

I had such a social weekend. I didn’t take pictures of most of it (sorry). I did, however, get a few pictures from the two Memorial Day parties I attended yesterday.

First, I went to Ryan, Chris and Drew’s house for a Memorial Day Movie Marathon.

I was only there for one whole movie: Easy A.

I really love that movie.

I brought along dessert in the form of ice cream.

These Magnum ice cream bars were given to me as a part of Foodbuzz‘s Tastemakers Program.

I’ll be honest — I wanted to try these, but they were so high in calorie and fat that I just couldn’t wrap my head around eating one. However, they were a hit at the party with people who don’t watch their calorie, etc. intake that closely!

My friend Ryan was the first to check them out.

He went for the double chocolate.

No big deal.

TWSS.

I stole a bite. It was really good! Very rich.

Anyway, I eventually headed over to another party at my friend Robyn’s apartment.

It was a BBQ! Very appropriate for Memorial Day.

I helped myself to a couple of beers before digging into the food.

I mean, that’s half of BBQing, right? Right?

There were lots of things to eat, but I thought the funniest offering was one Laura and I brought:

Those are whole wheat english muffins for burger buns and pieces of potato bread for hot dog buns. I guess you shouldn’t wait until 6pm on Memorial Day to do your BBQ shopping?

I used one of those english muffins as a bun for my veggie burger with grilled pineapple and barbecue sauce.

Creative, right? I thought so.

Eric was our grillmaster of the evening and I have to pay him a little tribute here.

Thank you to Eric for grilling everything for us!

And thank you to Laura for this amazing glamour shot.

There were also veggie kebobs, which I never ended up tasting because I’d already filled up on chips and my veggie burger. Whoops.

The best part of the party, aside from my cookies….

… was the company.

Bet you didn’t know I was going to say that! Riiiight? I know, I know. I’m predictable.  In my defense, these are new friends and I had such a wonderful time. I feel so lucky to have so many great people in my life.

I hope you all had wonderful Memorial Days and long weekends! Lord knows I need another one already.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Memorial Day

  1. I totally bought a six pack of that beer but couldn’t even drink one- I’m not a beer fan! I only wanted it because the bottle is so pretty. There’s something so exciting about seeing seasonal beer bottles at the store. I can’t wait until I see the autumn version!

  2. haha LOVE the icecream photos. and burgers on english muffins? sounds like a great idea!

  3. Easy A = Hilarious!!!!
    Loved that movie!

Leave a Reply

