My Stupid Body

Begin pout:

Ugh. Juuuuuuuuust UGH.

Can somebody tell me why my body wants to fight me every step of the way? I have the healthiest habits out of almost everyone I know, yet I also have more injuries and fight my weight more than all of them (you know, the people I know), combined. Tell me how that’s fair.

End pout. Mostly. Sort of. Not really. End of official pout, anyway.

You may have noticed that I have not posted about my first P90X workout, which was (re)scheduled for this past Sunday. That’s because I didn’t do it. P90X is postponed indefinitely. That does NOT mean I’m not doing it. In fact, it only means I’m more determined than ever to do it (when I can) and and excel at it when that time comes. But what it also means, for the time being, is that I’m not able to do it for a little while.

This was confirmed by my early morning doctor’s appointment this morning.

To sprinkle this post with a little bit of happiness, I’ll share with you the once-in-a-blue-moon-because-I-only-get-it-before-early-appointments-breakfast from Starbucks this morning.

Anyway. After that was the doctor’s office.

My knee has been acting up even more than usual in the past few weeks (thus the postponing of P90x twice) and then, because that just wasn’t enough, my back started hurting, too. On Friday, when I had those shooting pains up and down my leg and started to notice the back pain, I decided to go ahead book another appointment with my Orthopedic Surgeon, even though I knew he’d probably just tell me I needed to get surgery again.

For the record, I don’t disagree about the surgery. I really think I should get it. But, as I expressed to him this morning, I just don’t see the point in getting surgery when I still have extra weight on my frame. All that’s going to do is aggravate my knee post-surgery, too. I’d like to be in the best shape possible when I get the surgery so that I can give my knee the best possible chance of not stealing my spirit healing fully (or as much as possible, anyway).

Anyway, my doctor agreed with me and gave me a referral to a nutritionist at a nearby hospital, suggesting that maybe we need someone else’s help. I couldn’t agree more.

Except that Nutritionist appointments aren’t covered by my insurance. Awesome.

He also told me I have Sciatica in my back, which, you know, is a fantastic problem to add to the mix. On the bright side, we caught it early and will hopefully be able to work it out in physical therapy. At least I love my Physical Therapist, right?

Thankfully, this all came up at the right time because I literally have only two more days to cancel the hold on my gym membership. This is a good thing, since my doctor told me I should see how my body responds to swimming (ugh) and biking (double ugh).

I’m not allowed to do any high impact exercise at all.

I’m writing this here for accountability’s sake. We all know how stubborn I can be.

(Cute, right? I know. Boys, form a line!)

Let’s sprinkle this post with a little more happiness.

And maybe a laugh…?

As I told my mom about the Sciatica, she told me that I would have to get “one of those chairs with the big balls,” and that’s as far as we got, because she dissolved too hysterically into laughter.

(source)

At least we know where I get it from, right?

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

13 responses to “My Stupid Body

  1. I’ve always wanted one of those ball chairs! Sorry to hear about the dr’s stuff. I know all too well how much it sucks!

    Did you finish the book?

  2. I have back problems- always have, always will. I had a surgeon tell me I needed surgery. I decided to try some alternate routes first and guess what? I’m no longer a surgery candidate. I’m still occasionally in sore/pain, but it beats all of the risks involved. I’m glad you’re trying some other things (i.e. physical therapy) first! ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care of yourself, girl! Best wishes.

  3. I love ball chairs! When I worked at Northwestern we all sat on ball. I know, TWSS.

    Sorry to hear about the injuries. I know its hard not to get too down about it but at least your getting new information and are taking action. Try and keep a positive attitude ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! ok, that chair is funny.

  5. Kelly

    I kinda want one of those ball chairs! Kaitlin, I hope you feel better soon. BTW, I didn’t respond before but I tried the P90X, hated it, you’re missing nothing. OK, maybe that’s a lie, (not the part about me hating it–that is total truth) but I hope it made you feel a little better and maybe cracked a smile. Call WHarper, we need a bobby&whitney party, STAT!

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your injuries! How frustrating ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hang in there.

  7. Jennifer

    I’m sorry to hear about your injuries. I know what knee/leg pain is like. The past few months that has become the story of my life. And, like you, I really, really hate not doing high impact exercise. I told my doctor that I feel like an old lady–at 27!

  8. Pingback: Kaitlin With Rehab | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

