Wood & Vine

Alright, what do you say I quit the pouting? I woke up this morning to an email from my grandmother saying that I was depressing her, so I think it’s time that I snap out of it.

I mean, nobody likes someone who depresses sweet grandmas.

Anyway! Last night, I got together with a few friends from film school for dinner (well, “dinner” and drinks) at Wood & Vine in Hollywood.

We sat out on the patio, which was tres swanky.

Its the kind of fancy-schmancy place that has a new menu each day. See?

I have no idea what was up with my camera last night. You’ll see an even blurrier picture later.

I started off with a nice (but small, for $8!) glass of Pinot Noir.

The evening started with just me, Rod and Chan.

I was about to tell both of them, as I looked at the nice menu at this fancy place, that I would make fun of anyone who ordered a Miller Lite…

… when both of them ordered Miller Lites. 😉

You guys… I think I’ve become a beer snob!

I’m okay with it.

The reason for getting together, by the way, was to say bye to Chan, who is moving far, far away.

He was one of my favorite people at film school and I will miss him dearly.

Anyway, the way Wood & Vine works is that you can order “sharing plates” or cheese plates, but no entrees. Everything comes out as it’s ready, rather than all at once.

Chan broke the rules immediately and ordered a sharing plate just for him. 🙂

This was “hand-torn pasta.”

Then, the three of us ordered a cheese plate.

It comes with toasted baguette slices, honey and pickled vegetables, in addition to the three, six or nine cheeses you choose.

We got three: a soft french cheese with salt rind, a goat cheese, and a taleggio.

My favorite was the taleggio, followed by the goat cheese. I wasn’t a huge fan of the salt rind cheese, though Chan and Rod favored that one.

Soon after the cheese arrived, so did our friends Jenni, Brian and Brian (yes, two!).

Brian #1 immediately hijacked my camera and took pictures of himself and Brian #2. Here’s one.

When Brian #1 ordered a Summer Solstice and I stole a sip, I knew immediately that I’d need one of my own!

It was so good, guys. So, so good.

Not so good: the group picture we got on my automatic digital camera.

How does that even happen??

Anyway, it was a really fun night with lots of laughter. It was so good to catch up with these guys.

We’ll miss you, Chan!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Wood & Vine

  1. Good for you, being a beer snob! At least you didn’t get up and stalk away from the table like I would have if someone had ordered a Miller Lite! You’re a far better person than I could ever be.

  2. Being a beer snob is more than okay!

  3. actorsdiet

    i haven’t heard of this place before! looks like a fun place to go with friends.

Leave a Reply

