Grilled Pizza

Have you ever made grilled pizza before?

I definitely had not, nor had I ever considered it before.  I can safely say, as of last night, that grilling your pizza is the closest you can get to having to wood-fired oven pizza at home.

Well, unless you get takeout.

But this is better!

A bunch of friends and I were invited to my friend Robyn’s apartment for this wildly successful experiment.

Naturally, we started with wine.

In big glasses. 🙂

Cute.

We also started with these new Honey Mustard & Onion Pretzels, which I tried at Trader Joe’s and, naturally, had to get.

When do I not get sucked into new TJ’s purchases?

Anyway. The pizza, of course, was the real star of the show.

We decided to make individual pizzas, so Amy and Robyn set about preparing the dough (which we got at Village Pizzeria in Hollywood — totally made the pizza!).

Jen and I tried to help but failed miserably. Amy was the real chef of the night.

Actually, she was the only chef of the night.

First, she grilled each of the individual crusts.

Then, we each decorated our own pizzas with sauce, shredded mozzarella, and bell peppers.

I started with my messed up dough (messed up by my own hands).

Then topped it…

Mine, however, was not as epic as Laura’s packed pizza.

Or, for that matter, as Robyn’s beautiful smiley face pizza.

Anyway, then Amy grilled them over coals while Laura accosted her.

Meanwhile,  the rest of us snacked on garlic bread.

Yes, it was a very carb-heavy night.

Once the pizzas were done, we dug in.

They were absurdly good. I mean, can’t you just tell by looking at it?

By the time dessert rolled around, I was almost too full.

But, come on, there’s always room for dessert. I split a M&M cookie with my friend Jodi.

Lovely night! Pizza + wine + friends = happiness.

(Check out my math skillz.)

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Grilled Pizza

  1. Oh, I want to try grilled pizza. I’ve never had it before.

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz

    yum, grilled pizza is one of my favorite meals. And a good night never starts without wine! I also get sucked into buying waaaayyy to many things at Trader Joes. They just have too much deliciousness.

  3. I’ve always wanted to try grilling pizza, but I’m scared of grilling… I don’t know if it’s possible to get electrocuted when grilling, but that’s what I’m scared of, haha!

  4. Yum! That looks amazing! So cool you can get the dough from a pizza place! I’ll have to remember that. And yes, there is ALWAYS room for M&M cookies! Hope to see you soon!

  5. YUM! I want to try making grilled pizza but that would require me getting a grill.

  6. ah fun times. grilled pizza looks TASTY!

Leave a Reply

