SBD

No, not Silent But Deadly.

Gross, guys. This is half a food blog.

Okay.

So.

I’ve been thinking since my little photo incident. I’m not particularly happy about it, but I think I’m going to start the South Beach Diet on Monday.

(source)

I’ve toyed with the diet before, but I usually change it to suit me — as in, I have not been able to stick to (or truly believe in) a “healthy” diet that cuts out fruit and some vegetables.

However, I am willing to admit that I am at a bit of an impasse, and so I understand that something needs to change. I think the shock to my metabolism will be a good thing, considering how much my body likes to hold on to fat as if it’s (literally) starving.

The South Beach Diet, for those of you unfamiliar with it, essentially eliminates carbs. The first two weeks of it look like this, per the South Bean Diet website:

Phase 1, the shortest Phase, lasts for just two weeks and is designed to eliminate cravings for sugar and refined starches – and to jump-start your weight loss. The purpose of Phase 1 is to stabilize blood sugar (which minimizes cravings), making it ideal for people who are prediabetic or diabetic, as well as for those who need to lose a lot of weight.

The focus of this two-week period is on eating plenty of nutrient-dense, fiber-rich (and guaranteed delicious!) foods that satisfy your appetite. Your meals include lean protein, such as fish and other seafood; skinless white-meat poultry, and lean cuts of beef (vegetarians can enjoy meat substitutes, tofu, and beans); high-fiber veggies; reduced-fat cheeses; eggs; low-fat dairy; and healthy, unsaturated fats, such as those found in avocados, nuts and seeds, and extra-virgin olive and canola oils.

I can mostly get behind that. It’s sure as hell better than the Atkins Diet. And I’ve had success on it before, which is helpful in this whole decision-making process.

If I were working out at the level at which I usually work out, I don’t think I would be comfortable doing this diet at all. I think that, when you’re really active, you need carbohydrates as fuel. Right now, however, I am exercising an exceedingly low level and can totally get away with a diet low in carbs.

So, yea, I’m doing it. Starting Phase 1 on Monday.

Thoughts? Comments? Complaints? Got something to say that has absolutely nothing with the South Beach Diet?

Oh, and…

Rehab Day 2

Physical Therapy. The glute exercises kicked my ass.

Oh, how I will miss fruit.

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “SBD

  1. Mark

    you’ll get to eat it again soon enough. hang in there my dearest!

  2. bethanyrx

    I’ve run into injuries like yours that actually turned out to be from over-exercising. A friend recommended reading The Primal Blueprint (or if you don’t feel like reading a book, check out the website at marksdailyapple.com). Basically, Mark Sisson used to be an Olympic-level endurance athlete who started having all sorts of injuries… he also explores a minimal-carb way of eating (which sounds a lot like the SBD). I definitely think it’s worth a read (slash read some of the posts on his website).

    Hope this helps!
    ~B

  3. I think a SHORT jumpstart to a diet plan is a good start but phasing in other foods the right way is essential or else the weight loss wont stick….you can do it!! 🙂

    • I couldn’t agree more. This is only two weeks long and I’m already aching for it to end, but only because I miss fruit (okay, okay, and alcohol). I think it will be good for me to stick to these two weeks, but I can’t wait to re-introduce fruit back into my diet, and then I’ll gradually add oats and other things back in. I actually don’t totally believe in elimination diets, but I figured now was a good time to jumpstart my metabolism.

  4. Pingback: Veggie Frittata | Kaitlin With Honey

  5. Pingback: Hello, Endorphins! | Kaitlin With Honey

  6. Carole

    Hey!!

    I’m thinking of starting SBD tomorrow… how are you doing on it?

  7. Pingback: Grease Is the Word | Kaitlin With Honey

  8. Pingback: Summer Weekend | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

