Hello, Endorphins!

Okay, let me first say this: I have THE BEST READERS EVER. The emails I got from all of you were so wonderful. I will be writing each of you back! Thank you guys so much. You are the best.

Oh, and you all have a bunch of really fun, insightful and inspiring guest posts to look forward to!

Anyway, the events of this morning could not have come at a better time. In case you didn’t read my post yesterday, I’ve been having a tough time with my injury-ridden body and my inabilities to work out.

This morning, with encouragement from my Physical Therapist, I tentatively reunited with one of my long-lost friends.

(source)

I know it’s hard to tell, but nope, that’s not me in the picture.

Anyway.

I did level 2 on the elliptical (I used to do level 17!) and worked for 35 minutes (when I used to do 65 minutes in addition to strength class, as you may remember).The workout this morning didn’t make me break a crazy sweat or anything, but it was enough. While this certainly proves that I’ve gotten out of shape, that’s no surprise and I’m not upset about it. Instead, I’m incredibly heartened by this experience.

Why? Two reasons.

  1. It didn’t hurt. Not during and not after.
  2. ENDORPHINS!

(source)

I know most people who read this blog appreciate fitness as much as I do, so I’m sure you’re all familiar with the feeling I’m about to describe. As I stood collecting my things after finishing my workout, I felt this… buzz running through my body. It was a feeling of my muscles having been used. It was the feeling of strength and accomplishment and happiness.

(source)

It was a feeling I haven’t felt in what feels like forever.

When I came into work this morning, there was no more perma-frown. I  felt like myself again. I was cracking jokes and smiling and feeling like I could conquer this.

Thank god. Debbie Downer was no fun.

(source)

I’m back and I’m loving it.

And I’m still sticking to my diet even though I have been craving fruit ALL DAY.

It’s okay. It’s working. 🙂

Rehab Day 7

(forgot to post this yesterday)

Physical Therapy

Rehab Day 8

35 minutes on the elliptical at level 2

Woohoo!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Hello, Endorphins!

  1. awesome! Congrats! Onward and Upward!

  2. I love that feeling of the endorphins after a good workout! I wish I could bottle it up to remind myself of how good it feels on days I don’t feel like working out. Congrats on getting back in there!

  3. Your mother - haha

    Thanks, Mom.

  4. LOVE your mom’s comment. amazing.

    and I second what kelly said, “Onward and Upward!”

Leave a Reply

