Eggplant Tofu

I wasn’t actually planning on sharing this recipe with you today — I still have to share my afternoon at the zoo with Mark and the Sunday dinner party I had! — but this day has come and gone and I still haven’t had a moment to sit down and write a post. So, I’m giving you a recipe I was planning on saving for later.

Last week, when I was trying to be creative with my allowances on the South Beach Diet, I tried getting a little creative. I don’t even know where the inspiration came from, but I decided to make an Eggplant Tofu dish. I think it’s just because I got an eggplant and some tofu and saw them next to each other.

I decided to add some zucchini and mushrooms to bulk up the veggie content a bit.

It was pretty good, though I’d lower the garlic next time (I used a full teaspoon and am lowering it in the recipe below).

Eggplant Tofu

makes 3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu (5 servings)
  • 1/2 tbs EVOO
  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tbs rice wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tbs sesame oil
  • 2 tbs water
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt to taste
  • I might suggest adding a little honey to the mix, if you’re not avoiding sugar like I am at the moment. Unconventional, sure, but I think it would make it really good.

Directions:

Press the tofu for about 30 minutes, then slice into twelve pieces (cook it four ways on the long side and 3 ways on the short side).

Slice & chop the eggplant, dice the zucchini and slice the mushrooms.

Heat EVOO in a large pan over medium-high heat. Saute the eggplant first for about 10 minutes and set aside. Saute the zucchini and mushrooms for about 5 minutes and set aside with the eggplant.

Add 1/2 tbs of sesame oil to the pan (which should still be greased from the previous addition of EVOO) and spread the tofu out in the pan. Salt lightly. Leave for about 8 minutes, flip, and cook for about 5 minutes more.

While the tofu is cooking, whisk together the rice wine vinegar, remaining tbs of sesame oil, water, ginger and garlic powder.

Add all of the veggies back into the pan and pour the liquid mixture over the tofu & veggies. Stir to evenly combine and cover to cook for about three minutes more.

Try it out if you’re cutting sugar! (Or add honey!)

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Eggplant Tofu

  1. Oooh, yum! I totally think honey would work in this. I had a similar dish at a restaurant that recently closed and I was thinking about how to recreate it… I think you’ve done it 🙂

  2. Oh, that looks great! i sadly just had to throw my eggplant away because i’m dumb and never got around to using it… 😦 I hate wasting food!

  3. OH-MY-GOSH two of my favorite foods!!! looks great:)

  4. Jennifer

    I have a block of extra firm tofu in my refrigerator and I was trying to decide what to do with it. I may have just decided!

Leave a Reply

