Sunday Dinner

So on Sunday night, I had a dinner party. Except that I didn’t have it at my own apartment. My friend Marc and I hosted it at his apartment, which is also the apartment of my friends Josh and Aaron. So, really, I invited myself and a few other people over for dinner.

Ehh, don’t worry. Despite my lack of social graces, I think it all worked out.

We made the most delicious salad, which is a creation perfected over time by Aaron and Josh. There are so many contrasting yet complementary flavors packed into it. It truly is an art form.

I mean, can’t you just tell how good it was by looking at it?

That’s the salad, minus the chicken.

The Milus Salad


makes about 8 servings

Ingredients:

  • about 4 packages of salad mix (we used fresh greens from the farmer’s market combined with a baby romaine mix)
  • 8 chicken breasts
  • EVOO
  • rosemary-infused salt (I’m going to go ahead and guess you could also just use a little rosemary and a little salt)
  • lemon pepper
  • ~2 cups grapes, cut in half
  • 2 golden delicious apples, sliced
  • ~2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers (1 red, one green), diced
  • 2-3 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced very thin
  • ~1 cup candied walnuts
  • ~1 cup slivered almonds
  • ~1 cup crumbled bleu cheese
  • dried cranberries

Directions:

Really, this is more of a “preparation method” than a recipe. Whatever. Make it anyway.

Trim & prepare (whatever you do — I hate touching raw chicken) your chicken breasts. Marinate in EVOO, rosemary-infused salt and lemon pepper. Just eyeball what looks like enough to cover the chicken. Pretty sure that’s all we did (again, I didn’t touch this part).

While the chicken is marinating, cut the grapes in half, slice the apples, dice the peppers, slice the strawberries, dice the tomatoes, and slice the celery. Or, more simply, cut up the fruits and veggies.

Grill the chicken. We used one of those counter-top grills.

You can also toast the almonds in a pan on the stove.

Oh, and if you want to candy your own walnuts, you totally can! First, toast the walnuts. Then, melt brown sugar on the stove, stir in the walnuts, and then separate them (immediately!) on wax paper. This will take a little speed and elbow grease. Well, not really elbow grease, but it’s a little tedious. It’s worth it!

And then, when everything is ready to go, arrange your salad!

That’s Aaron, the salad-master (and co-creator).

All done! (Mostly.)

Top it with balsamic vinaigrette (and, you know, the chicken) and you’re ready to party.

My salad was kind of sad next to those epic salads, but it was worth it to stick to my diet.

I really didn’t want to break it for anything and I’m proud that I didn’t, even in the face of an amazing-looking fruit-filled salad. (Oh, and my walnuts were of the not-yet-candied variety).

Party people!

Hooray!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Sunday Dinner

  1. πŸ˜‰ looks really good. Yum!

    I love grilled chicken on salads. I need to remember to do that more often, especially since I won’t be allowed to have croutons on salads anymore!

  2. aww looks like fun! such a good idea for a dinner party πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

