South Beach Diet Lunches

As you all may have realized (if you’ve been keeping track in terms of timing), I just completed phase one South Beach Diet. I have a big update about that to come, but until then, I want to fill you in on some of the stuff I’ve been eating.

Phase one, which lasted two weeks, took out a bunch of food but the general idea, for me, was that it took out most carbs — no grains, no fruit, no sugar and no alcohol (amongst other things).

Breakfast was the hardest for me — no fruit in the morning?! — but lunches and dinners weren’t that different at all. I mostly just kept eating as I was eating anyway.

Nonetheless, I think I ate a nice variety of South Beach Diet lunches, so I figured I’d share a few. They’re also just nice, light, summery dishes, even if you’re not on the SBD (which I assume most of you are not).

Summer Chopped Chickpea Salad

I pretty much just used this recipe, except I used diced heirloom tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, no scallions, and no basil (it had gone bad, to my surprise — otherwise, I definitely would have used it.).

Chicken Salad

Into the mix went:

  • baby romaine mix
  • cucumbers
  • cherry tomatoes
  • diced bell peppers (one of those two times I made it, anyway)
  • low fat feta cheese
  • dressing made of balsamic vinegar, EVOO, salt & pepper

Simple and delicious.

Hummus-Mustard Tuna Salad

I used to make this with honey, but I had to cut it out for the SBD. Honestly, I didn’t miss it. It’s good with honey and it’s good without!

Into the mix went:

  • 1 can white tuna (in water)
  • 1/3 cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 tomato, diced
  • heaping tbs hummus
  • a few squirts of mustard (No sugar added! Try this one from OrganicVille. It’s fantastic.)
  • salt & pepper to taste

So much better and so much healthier than mayonnaise.

Roasted Veggies & Chicken


You all know the deal with this one by now, right?

Into the mix went:

  • brussels sprouts
  • snap peas
  • asparagus
  • red & yellow bell peppers
  • broccoli
  • EVOO
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • garlic gold nuggets to taste

Roasted for 45 min at 375 degrees.

After the veggies were roasted, I added:

  • parmesan & romano (duh)
  • grilled chicken

All healthy, all easy, all yummy, and all South Beach Diet friendly. 🙂

By the way…

Rehab Day 20 (Tuesday)

Elliptical for 45 min at level 3, on Random, in Aerobic Mode

Rehab Day 21 (Wednesday)

Physical Therapy

Rehab Day 22 (Thursday)

Elliptical for 45 min at level 5, on Random

Today, per my PT’s instructions, I really focused on leaning forward on the elliptical in order to activate my gluts, since that has been a big problem for me. My quads naturally want to take over for my gluts, and that is a significant reason for which I ended up in so much trouble with my knees when running.

The bottom line here is that you just want all of your muscles to work evenly and together, not in place of each other.

Oh, and… I’ll (hopefully!) have an interesting update soon about the elliptical and suggestions that my PT has made in light of my recent improvement… 🙂

What are some of your favorite light, summery lunches?

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “South Beach Diet Lunches

  1. Yum. Those salads look delicious. They all remind me of summer. Yum!

  2. those meals look delicious! and favorite summary lunches…well, i eat a lot of pb&j’s because i’m in the field…but if i could i’d remake the spinache edamame salad at tj’s…so freak’n delish!

  3. So, I am really curious, what did breakfasts look like?

  4. those lunches look delish! good luck sounds like your doing a great job 🙂

Leave a Reply

