Red & White Sangria (No Sugar Added!)

As you may remember from my Fourth of July post, I made both red and white sangria for the BBQ party Mark and I held. In the interest of keeping my diet to only naturally occurring sugar, I made both versions without any added sugar.

Admittedly, there is surely added sugar in both the Triple Sec and the coconut rum, but I did my best.

Please find the (very simple) recipes below!

Red Sangria

2 batches

Ingredients:

  • 2 bottles red wine (I used pinot noir)
  • 2/3 bottle sparkling water
  • 1 1/4 cup Triple Sec
  • 3 blood oranges, sliced
  • 2 sweet yellow peaches, sliced
  • 1/2 mango, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple, diced

White Sangria

2 batches

Ingredients:

  • 2 bottles white wine (I used pinot grigio)
  • 2/3 bottle sparkling water
  • 1/2 cup Triple Sec*
  • 3/4 cup coconut rum*
  • 3 blood oranges, sliced
  • 2 sweet yellow peaches, sliced
  • 1/2 mango, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple, diced

*Note: Next time, I think I’d do opposite proportions here — as in, 1/2 cup coconut rum & 1 cup Triple Sec. The sangria was good, but very coconutty.

Directions (for both red & white):

A few hours before serving, pour wine & liquor over the fruit into whatever receptacle you plan on using to serve the sangria. Stir and refrigerate. Add sparkling water just before serving and gently stir again.

That’s it!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Red & White Sangria (No Sugar Added!)

  1. This looks super good! I am always thinking I should make sangria but it seemed intimidating. I’ll have to try this recipe out 🙂

  2. I made sangria on the 4th too! Great minds!

  3. oohh looks so good and refreshing!

  4. Love the idea to put blood oranges in! I had a sangria last Monday and that had blueberries in it-sooooo good. I wanted to eat a bowl of boozy fruit. But I definitely need to do the blood orange thing. That would be pretty in a white sangria with blueberries…

Leave a Reply

