A Most Magical Day

On Saturday, I was lucky enough to visit the happiest place on earth.

I was also lucky enough to go with a bunch of pretty awesome girls.

Let the Emories begin! 😉

Thanks to Amy and Marci, who are both Disney staff members, we were all able to go for FREE!

Our group also included two first-timers (Jodi & Robyn) at Disneyland, which made the whole thing that much more exciting.

We started off simply walking down Main Street (which you sort of have to do, but it’s still one of my favorite parts).


Our very first ride? Splash Mountain!

It was a HOT day, so we decided to jump onto this ride before the line got ridiculously long. We were lucky enough to only have to wait for about 30 minutes. We were also pretty good about entertaining ourselves by taking lots of pictures while waiting on line.

Those of us who had been there before were smart enough to sit in the back, but we stuck Robyn in the front. 😉

Bahahaha.

She got a little bit wet. 🙂

From there, we made our way back to the center of the park, taking down Haunted Mansion & Pirates of the Caribbean (two of my favorite rides!) on the way.

From there, we headed to Space Mountain (for which we’d been smart enough to snag fastpasses).

This is one of my favorite rides, so naturally, I loved it.

Looks like Laura did, too. Seriously, though, we were all very happy campers after that one.

By this point, we were all starving. I was very happy to find a healthy and good lunch. Actually, the whole day’s worth of food really impressed me. I was thrilled to eat well while there.

I’m sure it was mostly because I was starving, but I swear that was one of the best salads I’ve ever had.

From there, we made our way over to other parts of the park. I accidentally took this “artsy” picture of the castle on the way. Since it’s one of the only pictures I took of Disneyland (and not of my friends), I figure I’ll keep it. Or pretend I meant to take it. Either way.

I got one of this fun band, too. I actually really enjoyed them. They were really into it.

We also ran across Woody on the way!

That’s one of my favorite pictures of the day, even though Woody was not the nicest character I’ve ever met. It’s cool — Jodi’s pretend pout makes the picture.

Next up: It’s A Small World.

This was a special request from Rachel and definitely not a ride I’d usually go on, but the mostly shaded line, long sitting time and lovely air-conditioning on the sweltering day made it oh so worth it.

From there, we made our way back over to Adventureland to ride Indiana Jones (another ride for which we’d snagged fastpasses, thank goodness) and Jungle Cruise (one of my favorites! I’m a sucker for dumb jokes.).

And then, after a “quick” stop for Dole Whip (heaven)…

… and the lucky timing of passing by the parade…

… we were done with the Disneyland portion of the day and made our way over to California Adventure.

Jodi was leaving us early, so we needed to make sure we went on two of her most-anticipated rides before she left.

First up: Tower of Terror!

This is another of my favorite rides and it did not disappoint.

You know, in case you can’t tell by the look on my face.

Next up was California Screamin’, which I had not planned on riding. It has always given me a headache, so I figured I’d just wait on line with everyone and then step aside when it was time to go.

Somehow, I got distracted and ended up on the ride. I don’t know how that happened, but it was a blessing in disguise. I sat next to Jodi and ended up having the best experience of the whole day because she and I alternated between screaming at the top of our lungs and cracking up. Happily, the picture captures each of us doing one of those things.

I love that picture.

After that, we bid adieu to Jodi and headed to the next ride, which was another favorite experience of the day.

As you may or may not have picked up in your time reading KWH, I’m just a little bit competitive. So, when I rode this with Robyn, I got… pretty into it. Unfortunately, she kicked my butt. Damn. Still, it was so much fun trying (and failing miserably) to win.

After that, we got really lucky and were able to jump onto a miraculously short line for the new Little Mermaid ride. The line for this is usually impossibly long, since the ride is only a couple of months old, but we managed to hop on right after they re-opened it after it had been closed for hours.

We were so excited that there may have been a little dancing while we were in line.

It was a really fantastic ride. Robyn and I may have spent the whole time singing along.

Totally normal.

By this point, it was time for us to pick up our picnic dinners, which we’d ordered ahead of time so that we’d have guaranteed seating for World of Color.

Best idea ever. Not only did it make everything super easy, but the dinners were also really good! Everyone else had opted for the Mediterranean Vegetable  version, but I was all over Taste of Asia.

With a little time to kill after we’d eaten, we ventured over to get some of the girls some coveted ice cream.

And then it was time to line up for World of Color!

We sat down and rested our tired feet for as long as they would let us.

As it got darker and time wore on, I entertained myself by taking pictures and playing with settings on my (new!) camera.

Fun, right?

And then… the magical show began.

So, so fun and exciting.

We were even lucky enough to catch a glimpse of some of the fireworks over in Disneyland right after!

Finally, we ended the day with a visit to “It’s Tough To Be A Bug.”

Pretty fantastic day, am I right? We were there for twelve hours!

Have you ever been to Disneyland or Disney World (or any of the other Disney parks)?

14 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

14 responses to “A Most Magical Day

  1. Awe, so Fun!!! I ran the Disneyland Marathon once, but I’ve never actually been to the park! I have to go!

  2. Hey Kaitlin! I’ve been having issues with accessing my email lately, and I’m wondering if you still wanted me to do a guest post?

  3. Looks like so much fun. I love Disneyland.

  4. actorsdiet

    my love for disney is beyond. abe and i are overdue a trip; we usually go near the end of the year, to avoid the heats/crowds.

  5. Claire

    Disneyland is the best. You’ve got me yearning for another trip.

  6. Mark

    Why did the monkey fall out of the tree?

    ……………because it was dead.

  7. Ah, what fun! I haven’t been to disney in what seems forever!!!

  8. What a fun trip! I felt tired just reading it, you must have been exhausted by the time you left. Love Disney!

  9. I love Disneyland but haven’t been in a while since our season passes expired. Boo. I miss it!

  10. Pingback: South Beach Diet Phase One Revelations | Kaitlin With Honey

  11. You are brave to go to Disneyland on Saturday during summer season, isn’t it packed? What a fun day you guys had, you pretty much went to my fave rides (well except for Haunted Hause).

    We usually go every Sunday late afternoon/evening but we might venture out during the day one of these days.

  12. Pingback: Best Day EVER! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

