BBQ Tofu “Nuggets” and Okra Fries

This is one of my favorite dishes lately. Seriously, I’m obsessed with it. No exaggeration — I’ve made it twice in the last two weeks, which means I have had it four times for dinner in those two weeks.

No shame.

I’ve already posted about the okra here, but, well, I’ll post it again. It’s been a while.

BBQ Tofu “Nuggets” & Okra Fries

for two servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 servings firm tofu
  • ~ 20 pieces okra
  • 1 tbs EVOO, divided in half
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • BBQ sauce (No sugar added! Try this one by Robbie’s – it’s what I use.)
  • Ketchup (Optional. Aim for no sugar added! I’ve never tried this one from OrganicVille, but I bet it’s good if it’s anything like their mustard)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Wash okra & toss with 1/2 tbs EVOO, salt & pepper. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Seriously, that’s it for the okra.

As for the tofu, this is my favorite way to prepare it:

Press it for about 10 minutes.

Slice it into thin blocks (about 1/4 inch thick).

Heat a pan (make sure it’s really, really hot!) and then heat the olive oil (this is the other half of your EVOO, so about 1/2 tbs). When you’re sure the pan is hot enough, lay the slices of tofu down individually. You should hear a sizzle! Drizzle the tofu slices with sesame oil and top with salt & pepper. Keep the heat at about medium-high or even high.

Here’s the part where you won’t believe me: leave them be! Leave them for about 8 minutes. This is how they get nice and crispy. After 8 minutes, flip them, then cook for about 6 minutes more.

Seriously, could either of those things be any easier?

(P.S. — I originally learned to make tofu this way through Emily at the Daily Garnish in her tofu tutorial. I’ve just tweaked it a little, so I wanted to post it my way. Mine is a bit crunchier and gave me the consistency that made me realize it reminded me of chicken nuggest — thus the name.)

Once everything’s all cooked, dip the tofu in the BBQ sauce and the okra in the ketchup. It’s fantastic. And hooray for healthy finger foods!

You’ve gotta try this combo. It’s so easy and sooooo good.

Rehab Day 29 (Wednesday)

Physical Therapy (AM)

45 minutes Strength Training Circuit (PM)

Rehab Day 30 (Thursday)

Swimming: 35 laps in 35 minutes (5 of those laps in the middle were speedwork)

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “BBQ Tofu “Nuggets” and Okra Fries

  1. I wish I liked tofu! I’ve tried it so many ways and just can’t enjoy it. Boo. Okra fries sound delicious though.

  2. you make me wish i hadn’t scrambled all my tofu last night, because now i want this. bah.

  3. Pingback: Watermelon Mint Smoothie | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

