Blogger Meal Day

It’s pretty cool being a part of the healthy living blogger community sometimes. There are lots of reasons why, and today’s eats represent a pretty solid one: new meal ideas.

Both my breakfast and lunch today (and actually, dinner last night since part of today’s lunch involves leftovers from last night’s dinner) are things that I never would have made or even heard of if I were not a part of this community.

Breakfast today was a Protein Muffin, which I learned about through a guest post on Janetha’s blog, written by Deb (whom I’ve met!) of Smoothie Girl Eats Too.

I was really, really impressed with this recipe. It hits all of my breakfast requirements:

  • filling
  • yummy
  • easy
  • repeatable
  • (at least for now) gluten- and refined sugar-free
  • compatible with fruit and/ or toppings
  • mutable (as in, it can take on different flavors and varieties)
  • minimal clean-up
  • bonus!: easy to take on-the-go

So, basically, I was happy.

As for how easy it was, I quickly assembled this (plus an egg):

And just a few minutes later, I had this:

And I’m really not kidding about how filling it is — it kept me going for hours and hours! I can already tell that it’s going to be a new staple in my breakfast diet.

Based on what I had in my pantry/ fridge, what worked for my diet, and what sounded good to me this morning…

Into the mix went:

  • 1 egg (I prefer a whole egg to 2 egg whites)
  • applesauce
  • coconut flour
  • baking powder
  • Sucanat (my current sweetener of choice — thumbs up so far!)
  • carob powder (so good)
  • coconut butter (on top)

Check Deb’s post out for her recipe with exact measurements.

And that was that!

As for lunch (and dinner last night)…

I have Evan of The Wannabe Chef to thank for that. I’ve recently been catching up on lots of blog posts (I got very, very behind) and came across his recipe for socca. Given my current attempt to be gluten-free, these sounded pretty amazing.

Plus, like Evan, I’ve had a bag of garbanzo bean flour in my pantry forever and it was time to put some use to it.

I cannot even begin to tell you how easy these were. Literally, I threw the ingredients in a bowl, whisked them together, poured them into a pan, and had four pancakes (I doubled the batter) in five minutes. Unbelievable.

And they are delicious. I don’t know if it’s the fact that I haven’t had bread in weeks or what, but these guys were mouth-watering.

I didn’t have Italian Seasoning on hand (seriously, what kind of Italian am I?), so I used Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute. It was perfect.

Last night, I topped two socca (soccas?) with a fried egg each, plus some feta. For lunch today, as you can see, I’ve topped two again with feta and also with zucchini (sliced and sauteed in EVOO).

Could. Not. Have. Been. Easier. Or more delicious. I have so many things I want to do with socca now! So… another staple to add to the diet.

I love that both new foods today are made from different flours (coconut and garbanzo bean). Even if I don’t end up having to go gluten-free, I’m keeping them in my repertoire. I’m thrilled with the high protein content in each of them and I love their flavors and textures.

Two for the win today!

Rehab Day 31 (Friday)

1 hr 15 min of yoga

Mark taught me yoga today, entirely focused on my sciatica. It was amazing. He is such a good teacher and I’m lucky to have him.

Have you ever tried socca or Deb’s protein muffins? How have you prepared/ eaten them? I’m looking for new ways to consume them (and my mind is already buzzing with possibilities)!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “Blogger Meal Day

  1. I haven’t tried either, but thanks for making them and for linking so I can check it out. I love the blog world and all the inspiration that I get from it.

  2. Deb’s recipe is amazing! As is Deb! I need to try Evan’s socca recipe. Yumzilla!!

  3. I haven’t tried either and need to! good to know you liked them both!

  4. Yum, this reminds me that I need to use socca more often! I have a jar of the stuff from way back when and have only made socca pancakes once, but I agree they are so versatile. I am inspired by your creativity! 😉

  5. Hi there! So glad that you liked the muffin! Yay! Not sure if you saw my guest post over at Janetha’s but I mix things up a bit based on what I have on hand like you did- great move on the carob- YUMMMM. Love carob sooo much. Maybe I’ll do carob tomorrow!

    Re. Socca- can you believe I’ve never done it either? I need to get on that- it’s all the rage!

    And Amanda- aww you’re so sweet 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

