Watermelon Mint Smoothie

I took the weekend off from blogging. Part of it was that I needed some time away from the responsibility of taking pictures of everything and part of it was that I really didn’t do anything all that picture-worthy. I spent most of Saturday reading, other than a morning workout (with my personal trainer — woohoo!). On Saturday night, I saw Harry Potter in the theaters (AMAZING). On Sunday, I spent most of the day cooking things that I’ve either already shared on the blog (bbq tofu nuggets & okra fries, frittata) or feel need perfecting before posting (white bean, peanut butter & chocolate bars). Why all of this cooking? Well, it was for a friend who just had surgery, whom I wanted to make sure had lots of easy food to warm up throughout the week.

I did make some cold honey, milk and chamomile oatmeal, though. I didn’t eat it. It was for my back. Don’t ask.

(Okay, fine. I got a GOD-AWFUL burn. I look like a lobster. That might be the real reason there are no pictures from this weekend.)

Anyway, I do have a smoothie from last week that I want to show you.

(glass courtesy of Monica!)

It involved watermelon, cucumber and mint.

New and fun and interesting! And very light and summery!

Watermelon, Cucumber and Mint Smoothie


makes one

Into the mix went:

  • 1 1/2 thick slices of watermelon (I took the black seeds out and left the white seeds in)
  • 1/3 cucumber, sliced
  • 3 sprigs fresh mint
  • 1 tbs whey protein powder (plain)
  • 1/4 cup 2% plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 big handful fresh baby spinach

All whirred together in the blender!

Mmm, frothy and light summer breakfast.

Rehab Day 32 (Saturday)

35 minutes elliptical trainer (aerobic mode, level 3)

20 minutes treadmill (walking at 3.5 — I was actually just waiting for my trainer at this point)

40 minutes strength training with my trainer

Rehab Day 33 (Sunday)

Rest day! Needed.

Rehab Day 34 (Monday)

Boot camp! I returned! Sort of. I did what I could without risking hurting myself.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Watermelon Mint Smoothie

  1. Lauren

    Thank you for the yummy food!!! You are such a wonderful friend! Everything is sooo good. I LOVE the brownies. Trust me everyone, they’re great. I’m rationing so I don’t run out 🙂

  2. Eek on the sun burn! Those are never fun! Haha, and I loved seeing the glass when the images loaded up. Miss you! 🙂

  3. This smoothie looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

