Potluck Dinner

This past Saturday, Mark and I threw a little potluck for some of my grad school friends. Life gets so crazy after everyone leaves school and gets jobs and such, so I realized that if I wanted to see everyone, I was going to have to bring people to me. Thus — a potluck. Food works every time.

I should probably apologize in advance. I was terrible at taking pictures at this party. In my defense, however, Mark and I were pretty frazzled with cooking and I feel like I spent the first half of the party without really even talking to anyone! There was just a lot of food prep work to be done, even though we’d done so much before the party began.

I figured out far too late that I could have done more in advance and just kept the food warm in the oven instead of trying to serve it fresh. Oh, well… a lesson learned for next time, right?

Anyway, Mark and I definitely were not ready when the party actually was supposed to begin. We figured it wouldn’t be a big deal, since nobody ever shows up to parties on time anyway, right?

Wrong! Well, we were right about almost everyone. Jeff, however, showed up RIGHT on time.

No big deal. I just forced Jeff to hang out with me while I put makeup on — necessary, since onions had just made my makeup run all over my face.

And that’s after I’d wiped most of it off. I looked really scary before that. Kind of like a crazy person.

Anyway, after Jeff chatted with me through a closed door (sorry, Jeff) as I changed into more party-appropriate attire and freshened up, Mark and I were finally ready to actually be hosts.

And host we did! We decided to try to put on a very “couple-y” front as our guests arrived.

We only did it once, though… and then we forgot. Or, really, we got distracted. šŸ™‚

The next guest to arrive was Brian, who brought some of his hoppy, delicious home brew!

Other offerings…

Gazpacho shots from John and Vera:

Spinach & Artichoke Dip with pita chips from Ben and Andrew:

Cheese & crackers from Mark:

Meatless meatloaf (and unpictured but amazing vegan gravy) by Brian:

Peanut butter bars (these were ridiculously mouth-watering and addictive) from Jenni & Brian (different Brian):

And finally, a delectable triple-berry pie by Mark:

The main dish (by me) went sort of unpictured (whoops) that night, but there’s this blurry action shot…

That would be Farmer’s Market Pasta… I’ll be doing a whole post about it soon, with much better pictures. šŸ™‚

Most of the party took place out in the garage.

Out there, we played an awesome new game that Jenni introduced us to, which is essentially a combination of the best elements of Taboo and Charades (two of my favorite games!).

I think I have a new favorite party game.

And, speaking of favorites, I’ll leave you with my favorite picture of the night.

You’re welcome, ladies. You’re welcome.

What did you do this weekend?

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “Potluck Dinner

  1. Your friend Jeff is a cutie. Lol

  2. Hahaha…what a fun weekend! Think you can get the recipe your friend used to make that meatless meatloaf?

  3. Oooh what a fun dinner party! I actually just made PB&J bars this weekend, too šŸ™‚ Totally addicting.

  4. Looks like you guys had a great time! I recently was introduced to scattergories and need more game nights in my life. I am just not very good at them!

  5. Pingback: Farmer’s Market Pasta | Kaitlin With Honey

  6. You guys seem to have so much fun! I’m jealous! šŸ™‚ Love the food and drink assortment x

  7. Pingback: Surprise! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

