Oats & Yogurt, Yogurt & Oats

I have had a stress headache nearly every of this week.

I don’t want you to get the wrong idea — everything is actually fantastic and I’m stressed for good reasons! — but this week has been, without a doubt, completely overwhelming. My life is going through a ton of changes right now (again, good ones!) and I’ve had to make a lot of decisions. While it’s all very exciting, I also feel like I’m not on stable ground.

In order to maintain a state of any normalcy, I’ve needed the simple things to stay simple.

One of those simple things is breakfast. Invariably, every day this week, I’ve had some version of oats and yogurt and fruit.

Whether it’s been a yogurt bowl (man, it’s been SO LONG since I’ve posted a yogurt bowl on here — this is exciting!)…

… or overnight oats (that’s my very first post! crazy!) in a nut butter jar…

… or a pracitcally famous Cake Batter Smoothie

… I’ve seriously been having oats and yogurt and fruit every day.

The “into the mix“es:

Yogurt Bowl

  • 1 container TJ’s Honey 0% Greek Yogurt
  • blueberries
  • 1/4 cup raw oats
  • 1/3 banana
  • drizzle peanut butter

Overnight Oats

  • leftover almond butter in the jar
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 container TJ’s Honey 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tbs unsweetened almond milk
  • dash cinnamon
  • blackberries

Cake Batter Smoothie

(this is a new take on it and I loved it!)

  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1 tbs plain whey protein powder
  • 1 tbs carob powder
  • 1/4 cup raw oats
  • 2/3 banana
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbs 0% plain greek yogurt
  • drizzle sunflower butter (made it!)

Oh, and I totally used a different glass for the picture than I actually used for transport/ drinking. I have a blogging vanity problem.

In the midst of changing glasses, I also added a broken up chunk of Cacao Bliss…

Best. Idea. Ever.

It was amazing.

Let’s see, what else? I haven’t updated my rehab recaps all week.

Rehab Day 51 (Thursday)

Okay. I don’t want to lie to you. I honestly don’t remember. I’ve been staring at the screen for three minutes trying to recall what I did. I likely did the PreCor for 50 minutes. I know I did something but all I remember is not being able to go to my strength class for some reason.

Rehab Day 52 (Friday)

Nothin’ but a 2-mile walk with Mark to get coffee. I was out super late the night before!

Rehab Day 53 (Saturday)

65 minutes PreCor

Rehab Day 54 (Sunday)

Glorious rest day.

Rehab Day 55 (Monday)

50 minutes ProCor

Rehab Day 56 (Tuesday)

45 minutes elliptical.

I was supposed to go swimming, but I couldn’t find my bathing suit or towel anywhere! I decided a quick elliptical workout was better than nothing.

Oh, and the bathing suit and towel have since been found. They were somehow in Mark’s laundry? Weird.

Rehab Day 57 (Wednesday)

50 minutes PreCor

Rehab Day 58 (Thursday)

30 minutes PreCor + 45 minutes strength training circuit

Rehab Day 59 (Friday)

1 hour yoga with Mark

And now, time for a CRAZY weekend! I am so excited for everything I have planned but I’m already exhausted just thinking about it.

What have YOU been eating for breakfast lately? Maybe I need some new ideas. I might burn out on oats & yogurt! (Doubtful).

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

13 responses to “Oats & Yogurt, Yogurt & Oats

  1. Kaitlin with yogurt bowls! Glad to see them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Obviously mark was using your swim suit to swim and forgot to tell you ๐Ÿ™‚

    And yay for life changes… clearly we need to catch up!

  2. I miss oats! I need to buy some gluten-free oats!

    I’ve been craving protein like crazy (so weird) so I’ve been having eggs every morning. For 2 weeks. I think one day I had Fage plain greek yogurt with maple gf-cereal. Otherwise it’s eggs and a piece of fruit. I’m in a major rut!

  3. Jennifer

    Do you know, I read this post last night before going to bed and when I woke up this morning the only thing I wanted for breakfast was a yogurt bowl? How’s that for the power of suggestion? I’ve been having smoothies almost every day so this was a nice change!

  4. A new take on the cake batter smoothie?! You know I’m all over that ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been eating overnight oats for breakfast every single day and loving it! I love not having to worry about making breakfast before work.

  5. I’m totally with you on the glamour-glass thing!

  6. Mark

    Well…. I couldn’t find MY suit and yours just fit so well!!!

  7. I wish we could have breakfast together all the time – I love your creations! I am sending you an email now, we need to schedule a phone date! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Your yogurts bowls always look sooo good!

  9. I can be of no help with this one since I’m in a maje yoghurt bowl rut for breakfast. Nothing measures up. Nothing. x

  10. I’ve been enjoying almond flour pancakes, from the almond flour cookbook (I think you have the same cookbook right?). I love making a big batch because they are delicious for breakfast and then I love eating them cold for snacks with nut butters and fruits.

    I will probably get in a breakfast rut soon if I continue to eat it everyday. I can always do my eggs + toast breakfast and bring back oats when it gets a little colder.

    P.S. Love the picture on the top page ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Hi Kaitlin – I just found your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love love overnight oats. I’m big on keifer for breakfast with berries, total cereal and granola. I need some new ideas too (like pancakes maybe?) I seem to be eating the same things over and over.

Leave a Reply

